TiVo Community Forum banner
181 - 200 of 650 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Thanks for the response. Tivo offered to do an exchange for me for $79 and keep my existing service intact so I'm going to go that route.
Did you have Lifetime for more than 3 years? I was told back in December 2012 that after three years the ability to transfer your Lifetime subscription to a new box (even the same model) was no longer available.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Trogdor1083, I have the yearly service plan that they don't offer anymore. It's setup on autorenew so I keep getting the savings. Works out to $10/mo instead of the $12.xx/mo for multi units. I also have a premier which I pay $12.xx/mo for.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I have a TCD652160 that recently began the reboot loop of heck. I cracked open the case and sure enough, I have some bulging caps on my power supply. (I've been registered here forever, but I'm normally a lurker.)

Trogdor1083, I saw your post that you have (had) two spare power supplies. I'd love to get one of them to rescue my lifetime subbed unit. Please let me know if you still have a spare that you'd be willing to part with. I'd PM you, but I don't have the necessary post count.

I'm tracking a few auctions on ebay for units in the hope that I can swap out the power supply. I'm also considering ordering the caps from digikey, but I'm hesitant to try the soldering routine.
 

·
gun talk ignore list
Joined
·
4,436 Posts
I bought a used HD TiVo and when I first plugged it in it worked fine, but after 10 minutes or so it went completely dead, no lights, no output no fan. I figured 'bad power supply' so I opened it and found the capacitors looking fine. I plugged it back in and now it seems fine. It has been running for about an hour.
Anyone else have this happen? I can only think that maybe the power supply is on the edge of failing, and maybe me having the cover off is keeping the power supply cooler.

Update 5/30/2013 1042pm == still running with no problems. Very odd. I want to give this Tivo to my girlfriend, but don't want it to fail after I get it all installed. Guess I should just replace the caps just in case, or many just the whole power supply, as I have an extra. Course maybe its' caps' need replacing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
I did finally get the parts and repaired my original S3 OLED power supply which had bulging capacitors for the C401/C402 (2200uF 6.3V). Thought I would post the parts list here for anyone else looking to do this.

TiVo S3 OLED capacitor list:
3Y power supply: CP-1104 R2
TiVo PN: SPWR-00008-000 Rev A3

I went ahead and replaced 11 of the 15 capacitors to hopefully preemptively catch any of the other primary ones that might fail. The ones that I replaced fall into 3 main groups on the power supply board so that's how I've listed them starting with the ones that were bulging on mine.

C401 2200uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FR0J222 Digikey P14365-ND $0.81 (Alternate: P15308CT-ND?)
C402 2200uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FR0J222 Digikey P14365-ND $0.81 (Alternate: P15308CT-ND?)

C601 2200uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C222 Digikey P14402-ND $1.01
C701 2200uF 25V Panasonic EEU-FR1E222L Digikey P14428-ND $1.43
C501 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01
C502 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01
C503 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01

C50? 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01
C603 470uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C471 Digikey P14394-ND $0.49 (Alternate: P15342CT-ND?)
C702 470uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C471 Digikey P14394-ND $0.49 (Alternate: P15342CT-ND?)
C403 1000uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FM0J102 Digikey P12340-ND $0.51

All are rated at [email protected] except for the last 3 which are [email protected] and [email protected] Cost was $9.59 in parts plus $0.48 tax and $4.91 S&H for a total of $14.98.

I actually ordered enough caps to repair my 2nd S3 OLED as well since it has a few bulging 3300uF caps so the S&H was for both sets although the way it was boxed and shipped, I'm not sure it would have been any cheaper for just 1 set of caps.

I hope this helps someone else who might have an S3 OLED with a bad caps!

Scott
Thanks so much. This worked for me. About a month ago, my S3 started reporting errors on CableCard 2. Then it started reporting errors on CableCard 1. Then it started to reboot once in awhile. Then today it was just stuck in a continuous reboot loop. I popped it open and found 4 capacitors that were bulging on top and showing signs of leaking. I went to Jameco in Belmont CA, and picked up some replacements. They didn't have the 105C temp rating and they weren't Panasonics, but at least they had something. Replaced C601, C701, C401, and C402. No more problems!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
123 Posts
I had some weird issues with my Tivo HD 652160 that programs would just stop and reboot without warning. I replaced the hard drive and it would go through the power up screen, get to the end, reboot and then go to a GSOD. I switched back to the original 160GB hard drive and it did the same thing. That indicated to me that the capacitors were the most likely problem. I read all the pages of this thread and made a list of the caps I needed from Digi-Key and what they would replace.

Tivo HD Digi-Key PN Manufacturer PN
C501 10V 2200uf RLS 0720 P15323CT-ND EEU-FR1A222LB
C502 10V 2200uf RLS 0720 P15323CT-ND EEU-FR1A222LB
C504 10V 2200uf RLS 0720 P15323CT-ND EEU-FR1A222LB

C701 16V 1000uf RLS 0730 P13119-ND EEU-EB1C102

C403 10V 1000uf RLS 0736 P14378-ND EEU-FR1A102L
C503 10V 1000uf RLS 0736 P14378-ND EEU-FR1A102L

C702 16V 470uf RLK 0736 P14394-ND EEU-FR1C471

CapXon 200V 470uf 1189-1197-ND 200TXW470MEFC18X40

C402 10V 2200uf RLS 0732 P15323CT-ND EEU-FR1A222LB
C407 10V 2200uf RLS 0732 P15323CT-ND EEU-FR1A222LB

After replacing the capacitors I was able to get the unit working again. I also used a clean image on the hard drive followed by a Clear and Delete Everything to have a fresh start. The Tivo seems to be working fine. I did have to re-pair the cablecard (another suspected item) and re-establish all the season passes.
During all of the issues with the Tivo HD, the wife convinced me to get a Premiere. I called Tivo and was able to get a Premiere with Lifetime Service for a little over $400 as a Verizon customer since they are changing their FIOS service (stomp, stomp, stomp...take note of that if you wanted to try that deal)

Hopefully, this info helps someone with a Tivo HD. There is a lot of info on the OLED S3, but not much on the HD 652160.
Running into the Power Supply issue on my TiVo HD 652160 (2 noticeably bulged and leaking 1000uF caps). Replaced the entire supply with the one from my second TivoHd and all is fine, so definitely the power supply.

Wanted to say THANKS for this part list. got the parts on the way, and will solder when they get in. I'll report back on the resolution.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Back on 03/28,
Trogdor1083 said:
said in post# 9591253
[snip] I went to replace the CR2032 battery on the mother board and snapped the positive arm off the battery holder. Can this be soldered back together or do I have to replace the entire battery holder (by removing the motherboard!)?
I don't see where that part ever got a reply, so...

I think replacing the holder would be as easy as trying to repair it... probably the same amount of work either way.

Besides there being at least three different S3 models (I think they were called THX, HD and XL, with the XL being a THX with the card slots in front like the HD, and no OLED panel), there were numerous revisions also, so I'm not even going to pull my S3 THX apart to see what style of mount its battery holder uses, because yours might differ... but googling "CR2032 PCB Mount Battery Holder" I find dozens of different styles ranging from $1 to $4 each for singles, so it should be fairly simple to procure the correct replacement once you've ascertained which style you have, exactly.

I imagine that as long as you don't lose power, not having that battery backup wouldn't matter a whit; in the intervening months, what side-effects did you observe? (or haven't you lost power since then?)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,574 Posts
While I'm thinking of it, I wanted to mention that when I removed the power supply I also took a look at other parts of the motherboard that might be causing power problems. I went to replace the CR2032 battery on the mother board and snapped the positive arm off the battery holder. Can this be soldered back together or do I have to replace the entire battery holder (by removing the motherboard!)? Since it works the same as a battery on every motherboard (holds the static memory during power loss) is it even essential for the Tivo to run?
As brought up already, it's pretty easy to replace the whole battery holder. Most people don't realize that the way it was designed should allow you to slide the battery towards the prong, and then it will release from the other side, as opposed to prying the prong itself, and having the battery release on that side. I wouldn't attempt to repair it. It's a special metal, and any repair would likely fail very quickly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,638 Posts
Back on 03/28,
I don't see where that part ever got a reply, so...

I think replacing the holder would be as easy as trying to repair it... probably the same amount of work either way.

Besides there being at least three different S3 models (I think they were called THX, HD and XL, with the XL being a THX with the card slots in front like the HD, and no OLED panel), there were numerous revisions also, so I'm not even going to pull my S3 THX apart to see what style of mount its battery holder uses, because yours might differ... but googling "CR2032 PCB Mount Battery Holder" I find dozens of different styles ranging from $1 to $4 each for singles, so it should be fairly simple to procure the correct replacement once you've ascertained which style you have, exactly.

I imagine that as long as you don't lose power, not having that battery backup wouldn't matter a whit; in the intervening months, what side-effects did you observe? (or haven't you lost power since then?)
The later S3s, the HD and HD XL, are pretty much physically identical.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I started having problems a few weeks ago, which turn out to be the capacitor issue outlined in this thread. I bought the capacitors at a local electronics shop and got myself a soldering iron, but for the life of me, I cannot repair the unit. I cannot even get the bad capacitors removed!

Does anyone in the SF Bay Area know of a place or person that could replace the capacitors? It seems like an easy task if you know what you are doing (which I do not!).

Thanks for any guidance. I'm stuck with a TiVo that still manages one channel recording tip I get this repaired.

keytohwy
 

·
Switched to ChromeCast!
Joined
·
128 Posts
I've been having a strange issue, that got stranger lately.

About a month ago We noticed a bunch of channels missing from our Bedroom TiVo. (we have two and that one was fine) We still had all our locals and HBO. and quite a few others, but Many just a black screen when they were selected.

I was leaving for a fishing trip the next day so I decide to wait till I got back to call comcast to see what was going on thinking it was a cablecard issue.

I got a call from my wife during my absence, and she told me all the channels came back! Wow, Great.

Well Last week Thursday, it happened again. Same group of channels too. So I decided to call comcast, and they ended up passing me on to a special department number - that was answered by someone that identified himself as TiVo support, and didn't sound like a comcast CS person... anyway.

He had me go through a bunch of screens related to the cablecard, and was not able to resolve my issue. He did have me check signal meter on the affected channels some of them were low 63-65 but others were 90-100. He seemed to want to blame the signal strength, and told me to call comcast and have them increase my signal.

Well I decided to bring my faulty TiVo downstairs and swap it with my working one, thinking if it was a cabling issue it would be resolved and it would work correctly downstairs.

This is where it gets strange... When powering up the faulty TiVo it went into a reboot loop. This is a OLED S3HD - goes through the entire bootup process then as soon as the 'clock' came up , the screen went black and rebooted.

I had my old 500gig hard drive that was in that TiVo before I upgraded to the larger drive. So I installed that, and it booted fine. I had to go through a connect to TiVo as it had been a couple of years since the drive was active.

After all that, it is now working again downstairs & upstairs it's original location and cabling... however the signal strength that was low the some of the bad channels is now up to compare to the downstairs TiVo... what was in the 60's is now in the 90's or 100.

With that said I still don't get the channels that were missing, either installed in the upstairs or downstairs location.

When I swapped Hard Drives I inspected the capacitors and noticed the C107 had a bulge on the top.

Could all of my problems be related to a bad power supply(capacitor)? Causing the tuners to not work correctly? Cause the reboot with my larger hard drive? (it's also physically bigger too, twice as high or thick)

(edit):

I forgot to mention, that the TiVo service rep. commented that my TiVo was quite old and still had the SCards installed which are no longer available, and he didn't what to try and send and refresh or re-pairing commands thinking it would break it???

I ordered a new Premere XL4 to replace this unit, but would like to fix my old one - perhaps to put in another location in the house.
 

·
what ru lookin at?
Joined
·
10,926 Posts
Attend to the power supply first. You need to be sure that the power supply is working properly before moving on to diagnose anything else.

You could go ahead and check the hard drive on a computer with the manufacturers hard drive test.
 

·
wait.. I did what?
Joined
·
15,325 Posts
When I swapped Hard Drives I inspected the capacitors and noticed the C107 had a bulge on the top.

Could all of my problems be related to a bad power supply(capacitor)? Causing the tuners to not work correctly? Cause the reboot with my larger hard drive? (it's also physically bigger too, twice as high or thick)
Simply, "yes" bad caps can cause all sorts of weird issues.

Mine manifested with CableCARD and reboot issues.
 

·
Switched to ChromeCast!
Joined
·
128 Posts
I'm leaning toward it being a PowerSupply issue, I ordered the 2200uF 25V 105C for the C107 capacitor -

is that all I have to replace? or are there others that it can be?

it is the only one that has a swelled top.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,638 Posts
I started having problems a few weeks ago, which turn out to be the capacitor issue outlined in this thread. I bought the capacitors at a local electronics shop and got myself a soldering iron, but for the life of me, I cannot repair the unit. I cannot even get the bad capacitors removed!

Does anyone in the SF Bay Area know of a place or person that could replace the capacitors? It seems like an easy task if you know what you are doing (which I do not!).

Thanks for any guidance. I'm stuck with a TiVo that still manages one channel recording tip I get this repaired.

keytohwy
Radio Shack (about which I usually don't have anything nice to say) has a thing that looks like a soldering iron with a big red rubber squeeze bulb attached (about the same size as the bulb on a turkey baster).

This will work to remove the old solder, especially it you feed a little fresh solder into the joint you're heating to add a little of its rosin core flux to make it flow more easily.

Be sure to observe polarity on the capacitors.
 
181 - 200 of 650 Posts
Top