TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We just moved and now we have this issue. Ordered cable [Spectrum] the installer came out saw the tivo box and said it would be a problem. He told me very few people worked with the cable card to set it up on their end. He was right, it took almost 2 hours on the phone for him to get it set up. Later I noticed a SD cable box was installed not a HD box as it should have been. Now I know why. The SD box suppled has a coax output to the Bolt. Works fine. When I asked about HD they said no problem just exchange your SD box. However I see that the HD box only has a HDMI output. My Bolt only has F type coax input. I looked on the net and see dozens of different boxes. I'm not tech savvy enough to understand if its possible to get a convertor of some type. And if I do will the picture be degraded so that it's not worth it. I'm sure others have had the same issue. What's the fix?

·
wait.. I did what?
14,205 Posts
You can't do what you're trying to do.
You don't use a cable box with a Tivo Bolt, the Bolt gets a CableCARD and uses the coax from the wall and HDMI to the TV, there is no cable box anywhere in the picture.
In other words, with a CableCARD the bolt REPLACES a Cable box.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You can't do what you're trying to do. You don't use a cable box with a Tivo Bolt, the Bolt gets a CableCARD and uses the coax from the wall and HDMI to the TV, there is no cable box anywhere in the picture. In other words, with a CableCARD the bolt REPLACES a Cable box.
You can't do what you're trying to do. You don't use a cable box with a Tivo Bolt, the Bolt gets a CableCARD and uses the coax from the wall and HDMI to the TV, there is no cable box anywhere in the picture. In other words, with a CableCARD the bolt REPLACES a Cable box.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·