TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I am a wannabe headline writer. Anyway...

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/01/19/south_park_axed/

UK TV viewers will not get to see an episode of South Park which shows Nicole Kidman and fellow Scientologist John Travolta attempting to coax a fictional Tom Cruise character out of a closet, with Kidman saying: "Don't you think this has gone on long enough? It's time for you to come out of the closet. You're not fooling anyone."

Naturally, the robustly heterosexual Top Gun star took exception to this when Trapped in the Closet aired in the US. The episode also showed Stan - believed by the Cruise character to be the reincarnation of Scientology founder L Ron Hubbard - having a pop at Cruise's acting abilities, and Cruise reportedly waved the legal big stick at Paramount and threatened to sue if the offending programme was ever shown again.

An insider said: "Tom is famously very litigious and will go to great lengths to protect his reputation. Tom was said not to like the episode and Paramount just didn't dare risk showing it again. It's a shame that UK audiences will never see it because it's very funny."

·
Banned
34,759 Posts
Screw Tom Cruise. He doesn't have a legal leg to stand on in this case.

A) Parody and satire are clearly protected (Hustler v. Fallwell)

2) They never say Tom is gay anway, they literally tell him to come out of an actual closet.

·
Mmm...invisible cola
7,165 Posts
I thought it meant "drinking a soda."

Thank goodness the South Park guys used fake names in the credits for that episode!

·
Nice to see you
11,933 Posts
busyba said:
Which is probably why we haven't heard anything about Cruise and/or the Church of Scientology threatening Comedy Central over this episode.