TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,792 Posts
Well Eventually... you will have too. As the DT s2 is a complete Analog system.

OTA Analog will be gone on February 17th, 2009. So if you do OTA, the S2 DT will be of no use.

If you use Cable, then you will still be able to use your DT S2 for a while after that. At least until the cable companies drop ANALOG cable service.

Chicago and Dallas as well as a few other cities have plans on dropping ANALOG cable service sometime in 2010.

Summary....

If you use OTA your safe until February 17t, 2009. After that you will need cable, or Tivo HD/S3

If you use cable, you will be safe until at least 2010, how much longer after that is anybodies guess, but keep in mind EVENTUALLY Analog cable will go away.

TGC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,792 Posts
lessd said:
Yes: if you do not have a need for MRV now, if you need MRV than wait until MRV comes on the HD units. ( Could be/might be by the end of the year ???.)
TiVoPony has announced MRV/TTG for release sometime in November. Probably more like just before thanksgiving!

TGC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,792 Posts
rodalpho said:
Incorrect. Cable STBs will continue to output composite and s-video for the foreseeable future. The analog tuner on the DT won't work, of course, but it'll still function just fine as a single tuner system.

Also, I really question people who recommend going with a tivoHD or S3 with SD TVs. It's true that it's more integrated hardware and stores better quality video in less space without reencoding, but dealing with cablecards and the lack of MRV/TTG on non copy-freely stations? Not worth it. No way.
Very true, you can continue to use it as a single tuner system with a STB (using cable or even an OTA STB).

MRV/TTG will be available on S3/HD units by sometime in November as TiVoPony has announced. As far as the "Copy" issue with the stations goes. That would all depend on what stations are important to you.

True, Cablecards in some parts of the country have been a royal pain for some. However, cablecards are NOT an issue if your just using OTA with a S3/HD unit.

TGC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,792 Posts
greg_burns said:
I thought the DTs didn't have an OTA tuner, unlike the older S2s. Don't own one myself, so I maybe misremembering.
The following only applies to those who use OTA... Does not apply to Cable.

They do have OTA tuners... but NOT ATSC digital OTA turners.

ATSC digital OTA tuners will be required on & after February 17th, 2009.

NTSC Analog OTA tuners will no longer receive any type of broadcast Television on or after February 17th, 2009 in the United States.

NTSC tuners as far as I know will continue to work in Mexico and Canada. Someone from Mexico &/or Canada can correct me on this if I am wrong.

TGC
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top