TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 20 of 107 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been using Tivo nonstop since 1999, so I was a relatively early adopter. I've gone through probably 6-8 boxes over that time frame, and purchased boxes for a half dozen family member at one time or another. To say I was a Tivo fanboy is putting it mildly. Heck, my friends still kid me about how much I've raved about Tivo's over the years.

But over these last few years I've noticed a significant decrease in the usability/functionality of my Tivo (currently using an Edge). An easy example, navigation changes are abysmal, particularly when I head down a path in the settings to find something, and instead of being able to back out a level to try something else, I have to start again from scratch. My wife and I both absolutely hate the current Home screen interface. Tivo used to have insane functionality based on continual improvements and user feedback. It just seems like with the Tivo acquisition (for their IP, not the devices), things have gone downhill.

It's at the point my wife, who's the least tech savvy person on the planet, is asking for something else. (fyi - we also have a new Apple TV, Roku, Firestick, & Chromecast, though we use Roku 90% of the time because it's universal search and user interface is superior. Tivo is used for recording sporting events, recurring series, and the Mrs's reality shows.)

Enough rambling. I'm trying to determine the best alternative to Tivo for those who've reluctantly made the switch to something else. Running a NAS or something some sort of PC based alternative isn't an option because I'm looking for plug & play, and minimal tech proficiency required for setup and use. We do have Verizon Fios, so if there's nothing noteworthy option wise, I may end up going with a Verizon DVR, though I'd hate to do it.

· Tivo Image Master
288 Posts