TiVo Community Forum banner
461 - 480 of 481 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Ok, thanks, I take it no one has reverse engineered the Tivo mini streaming protocol yet? It really surprises me that tivo just doesn't open up those protocols to give people more reasons to use and keep using Tivos as the gateway to the TV
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,933 Posts
Ok, thanks, I take it no one has reverse engineered the Tivo mini streaming protocol yet? It really surprises me that tivo just doesn't open up those protocols to give people more reasons to use and keep using Tivos as the gateway to the TV
If they did that, they would lose their CableLabs certaification, which would effectively put them out of business. If that stream is not secure, then there is nothing preventing a developer from decrypting it and saving it to disk. DRM rules the world.
 

·
DeleteAccount
Joined
·
506 Posts
Trying to set this up to feed an IP camera stream. The camera works from vlc using "rtsp://<ip address>/0". I tried setting that in the config.ini but I get a traceback on the console where I started the app, and the TiVo tells me "The requested application is currently unavailable. (V301)"

Traceback:
Code:
[[email protected] vid-stream]# ./start.py 
HME Server for Python 0.18
Fri Mar 28 14:44:42 2014 Server Starts
Registering: hmevlc
192.168.1.203 - - [28/Mar/2014 14:44:47] "GET /hmevlc/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -
192.168.1.203 - - [28/Mar/2014 14:44:47] Starting HME: hmevlc
----------------------------------------
Exception happened during processing of request from ('192.168.1.203', 34934)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 593, in process_request_thread
    self.finish_request(request, client_address)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 334, in finish_request
    self.RequestHandlerClass(request, client_address, self)
  File "./start.py", line 139, in __init__
    client_address, server)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 649, in __init__
    self.handle()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/BaseHTTPServer.py", line 340, in handle
    self.handle_one_request()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/BaseHTTPServer.py", line 328, in handle_one_request
    method()
  File "./start.py", line 230, in do_GET
    self._page(True)
  File "./start.py", line 184, in _page
    appinst.mainloop()
  File "/export/data/vid-stream/hme.py", line 1120, in mainloop
    while self.active and self.get_event():
  File "/export/data/vid-stream/hme.py", line 1173, in get_event
    handle(keynum, rawcode)
  File "/export/data/vid-stream/apples/listview.py", line 205, in handle_key_press
    self.app.set_focus(self.app)
  File "/export/data/vid-stream/hme.py", line 1292, in set_focus
    getattr(focus, 'handle_focus')(True)
  File "/export/data/vid-stream/hmevlc/__init__.py", line 313, in handle_focus
    s['func'](s)
  File "/export/data/vid-stream/hmevlc/__init__.py", line 266, in new_menu_rss
    feed = urllib.urlopen(rss_item['rss'])
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/urllib.py", line 87, in urlopen
    return opener.open(url)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/urllib.py", line 208, in open
    return getattr(self, name)(url)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/urllib.py", line 352, in open_http
    'got a bad status line', None)
IOError: ('http protocol error', 0, 'got a bad status line', None)
----------------------------------------
Is there a way to get the rtsp stream to show up on the TiVo? My TiVo is an HD, TSN758.

I tried running the HME/VLC app as root on a Fedora 20 system. I tried running as a normal user but it wouldn't start up, I do know vlc does not like to run as root in Fedora 20 so maybe there's an issue there.

I cleaned out all the feeds in config.ini for testing and added just one that I thought might work for my camera:
Code:
[Front Cam]
rss=http://192.168.1.231:554/0
needs_vlc=True
I did try using "rss=rtsp://192.168.1.231/0" in the config.ini, got a similar traceback, the last bit said "Unknow url type: 'rtsp'".
 

·
Well-Known Mumbler
Joined
·
12,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #467 ·
Trying to set this up to feed an IP camera stream. The camera works from vlc using "rtsp://<ip address>/0".
Code:
[Front Cam]
rss=http://192.168.1.231:554/0
needs_vlc=True
You're not setting up an RSS feed, so use "url" instead of "rss".

Code:
[Front Cam]
url=rstp://192.168.1.231/0
needs_vlc=True
 

·
DeleteAccount
Joined
·
506 Posts
Awesome, I didn't pay attention the examples you put in the config file. I do get one error/warning that looks like it might need some tweaking:

Code:
Registering: hmevlc
192.168.1.200 - - [28/Mar/2014 15:11:50] "GET /hmevlc/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -
192.168.1.200 - - [28/Mar/2014 15:11:50] Starting HME: hmevlc
VLC media player 2.1.4 Rincewind (revision 2.1.4-0-g2a072be)
[0x7de248] dummy interface: using the dummy interface module...
[0x7fcdf04c8ab8] mux_ps mux: Open
MultiFramedRTPSource::doGetNextFrame1(): The total received frame size exceeds the client's buffer size (100000).  95943 bytes of trailing data will be dropped!
[h264 @ 0x7fcdec011b80] Invalid level prefix
[h264 @ 0x7fcdec011b80] error while decoding MB 75 35
[h264 @ 0x7fcdec011b80] concealing 3934 DC, 3934 AC, 3934 MV errors in I frame
192.168.1.200 - - [28/Mar/2014 15:13:19] Ending HME: hmevlc
[0x7fcdf04c8ab8] mux_ps mux: Close
The buffer size bit, is that on the TiVo side or the Linux side of things? My camera runs 1920x1080 at 10 fps. It's a Grandstream GXV-3672-FHD.
 

·
Well-Known Mumbler
Joined
·
12,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #469 ·
The buffer size bit, is that on the TiVo side or the Linux side of things?
It's an error message from VLC, which is talking directly to your camera. Apparently there's something VLC doesn't like about the camera's stream. I doubt that either of us can fix that.
 

·
DeleteAccount
Joined
·
506 Posts
It's an error message from VLC, which is talking directly to your camera. Apparently there's something VLC doesn't like about the camera's stream. I doubt that either of us can fix that.
Ok, is there some documentation for all the options in config.ini? I didn't see any so far.

I did change the name that appears on the TiVo menu, could that be set from the config.ini?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Follow me, I have spent 2 entire days now trying to install VLC 8.0, 8.5, 8.6 on my SUSE 11 box. I've encountered an unbearable number of package incompatibilities and bugs and I have now officially given this up as being impossible. I can however, get vlc 9.0 / 9.3 to install OK. Are their any plans to get this program to work with the current version of VLC?
Xem thêm >> Đăng ký mạng internet fpt Sơn La
Đăng ký lap internet fpt tan phu khuyến mãi tháng 2/2017

FPT Telecom Tân Phú trực thuộc trung tâm giao dịch Fpt Tân Phú 2A Vườn Lài chi nhánh FPT HCM quản lý bao gồm. Hiện nay, trên địa bàn lap internet fpt tan binh lắp mạng fpt tân bình - đăng ký internet fpt tân bình, tp Hồ Chí Minh chi tiết >>> lắp mạng fpt tân bình - đăng ký internet fpt tân bình, tp Hồ Chí Minh ở Tân Phú đã được quang hóa hết toàn bộ, do đó khi khách hàng đăng ký Internet Fpt sẽ
được cung cấp đường truyền cáp quang lap internet fpt quan 3 lắp mạng fpt quận 3 - đăng ký internet fpt quận 3, tp hồ chí minh tốc độ cao có thể lên đến 80Mbps.
Cáp quang FPT.Quận Tân Phú đang có chương trình khuyến mãi lap internet fpt quan 3 hấp dẫn dành cho khách hàng đăng ký dịch vụ. Miễn phí.lắp đặt internet Fpt, miễn phí modem Wifi 4 cổng dành cho khách hàng lap internet fpt phu nhuan trả trước 12 tháng cước. Giảm cước liên tục 24

tháng.
Năm 2003, quận Tân Phú lap internet fpt go vap lắp mạng fpt gò vấp - đăng ký lắp đặt internet fpt gò vấp, hồ chí minh cũng đã được hình thành cách đây hơn 50 năm, khi đó Tân Phú là một xã của quận Tân Bình xưa.
FPT Quận Tân Phú giáp ranh các quận: Đông giáp FPT Quận Tân Bình, ranh giới là đường Trường Chinh và Âu Cơ. Tây
giáp FPT Quận Bình Tân, ngăn cách bởi đường Bình Long và kinh 19 tháng 5. Nam giáp FPT Quận 6, FPT Quận 11. Bắc
giáp dich vu lap internet fpt thu duc cho khach hang.

Một số thông tin mạng xã hội liên quan đến mạng fpt Tân Bình.
http://heaveniphone.com/threads/235...au-y-tuong-iphone-7-giet-nguoi-chac-chot.html
Lắp Đặt Camera Sơn Tây - MikroTik
Lắp Đặt Camera Phú Nhuận, TP Hồ Chí Minh Giá Rẻ • mozillaZine Forums
Lắp Mạng Internet FPT Phú Xuyên - Hà Nội
Đăng Ký lắp Đặt Camera Tân Bình, Tp Hồ Chí Minh • mozillaZine Forums
Du Lịch | | HighExistence
http://heaveniphone.com/threads/260...-iphone-6s-dung-chip-samsung-pin-yeu-hon.html
Lắp Mạng Internet FPT Phúc Thọ, Tp hà nội
Kinh Nghiệm Du Lịch Thái Lan Tự Túc Mới Nhất Cho Du Khách. | Facebook
Beckham David (phamtien79) on Pinterest
 

·
Well-Known Mumbler
Joined
·
12,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #473 ·
It's been a while since I messed with it, but AFAIK it should work now. (?) Those incompatibilities (due to regressions in VLC) were a long time ago. But anyway, the incompatible versions of VLC will forever remain incompatible, because they broke the fundamental capabilities required for HME/VLC to work.

I'll try to get around to providing an update sometime in the not too distant future, after testing. Meanwhile, try the latest source from git if the last release doesn't work.

My biggest reason for lack of motivation on this project is that streams everywhere have been shut down in favor of inaccessible Flash-based players.
 

·
DeleteAccount
Joined
·
506 Posts
Just noticed that when I stream one of my surveillance cams the image on the TiVo is cropped a bit. The camera puts out a 1920x1088 image, and I'm missing a bit around the whole thing. Is there anything I can do about that?
 

·
Registered lÜser
Joined
·
566 Posts
My biggest reason for lack of motivation on this project is that streams everywhere have been shut down in favor of inaccessible Flash-based players.
Ok, here's some motivation, maybe.

I don't know that much about HME/VLC, but I think it's the right target for my idea.

Here's my thought:
Enter Webz is limited to video streaming that the built-in Video Player can handle. I believe HME/VLC can handle most any video stream (apparently including the rtsp stuff that EWz doesn't even try to handle in any way).

If I provide users who have installed HME/VLC the ability to identify where it is installed on their local network, I should be able to launch HME/VLC from EWz by using that local URL (since the TiVo, on the same network, does the actual launching).

If HME/VLC is updated to accept the same arguments as the Video Player, and immediately starts playing that transcoding video stream, suddenly EWz supports all video it can come across thanks to a more capable video playing app.

I hope to provide a simple proxy program to similarly handle https media URLs and for automatic conversion and possibly resizing of image content. Instead of my public server doing the heavy lifting and data transfer, the user's home computer does that part once EWz is configured to point media URLs at it.

... or do you think it would be better to try to get Streambaby as the video player somehow and leave HME/VLC alone (I don't think it's set up to handle URL content yet, though).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,211 Posts
I would suggest adding Livestreamer to HME/VLC. This program makes it so you don't have to worry about finding the video URL from the web page. It can accept normal web page URLs from YouTube, Twitch.tv, Dailymotion, Livestream, plus many more sites then pipes the video to VLC. It can be configured to have VLC stream the transcoded video to a port on the local network just like HME/VLC does. It's a command-line tool so it's easy to execute and control from your program. I use this command-line to watch videos using HME/VLC:

Code:
livestreamer.exe URL best -p "'C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe' --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=2048,acodec=a52,ab=384,audio-sync,samplerate=48000,fps=30}:std{access=http,dst=:9044,mux=ps}"
Plus there is a pass-through option that will pass the video URL to VLC and let it handle it. So you can play any video VLC accepts.
 
461 - 480 of 481 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top