TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
I tried 0.1.3 on my Kurobox NAS last night and it worked ok. I see the messed up animation and it leaves my TiVo in an unusual state, but a restart clears that. There are exceptions occurring when this happens, so it is probably something that can be handled with a real application with error handling built in, rather than toy sample apps. If you are interested I can post the exceptions and describe the screen errors if you would like.

On the clock sample, when running under windows XP the text stayed on screen all the time and seconds character faded nicely from one digit to the next, a very sweet effect. On the Debian box the text flashed on with each new second for about half a second and the screen cleared for the other half second. This could be because I ran apps in a different order between the two boxes and the TiVo had different resources available, or a real difference in how python is working between the two platforms.

Let me know if there is something I should be looking at here.
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
I have not installed or tried out the Java simulator, but surely can try to do so tonight. First I will replicate what I saw and take some pictures and copy/pastes to show you what I see.

This is going to a Humax DVD burner TiVo, the slowest model out there. I recall JavaHMO making comments about having to add slowdowns to Galleon to keep it from causing problems in a very old thread here. I wonder if that might be part of it. I guess it is too soon to speculate, you will probably find the actual Exceptions more useful than my guesswork.

As I collect information I can post it here, email it, or post it on Armooo's site, whichever is most convenient for you.

BTW, I found I needed to exit most apps by hitting the TiVo button, left didn't seem to do anything. Is that expected, or am I doing it wrong and introducing problems. I will provide a narrative with my results so you can catch mess-ups on my part.

Edit: Humax SW version is 9.1
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
I did some testing, but the results were a little better, and unfortunately less revealing.

Here is my annotated PuTTy log of the test:
Code:
=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= PuTTY log 2008.01.31 20:17:06 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=
Thu Jan 31 20:15:44 2008 Server Stops
### Start HME
Serenity:/home/mark/hme# ./hmeserver.py
Thu Jan 31 20:15:57 2008 Server Starts
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /animate/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /clock/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /effects/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /fontinfo/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /hello/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /test/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:16:11] "GET /tictactoe/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:18:00] "GET /clock/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -
Thu Jan 31 20:18:00 2008 Starting HME: clock
Thu Jan 31 20:21:11 2008 Ending HME: clock

###See pictures showing clock working correctly
###Returned to TiVo Central using TiVo button, all is good

192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /animate/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /clock/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /effects/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /fontinfo/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /hello/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /test/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:28] "GET /tictactoe/icon.png HTTP/1.0" 200 -
192.168.2.101 - - [31/Jan/2008 20:21:37] "GET /animate/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -
Thu Jan 31 20:21:37 2008 Starting HME: animate
Thu Jan 31 20:24:03 2008 Ending HME: animate

### See pictures showing mostly blank screen with occasional tall rectangle flashing briefly
### Hit TiVo button, no text on TiVo Central, had to restart TiVo
### ARGH   ---   Smallville was recording
 
Thu Jan 31 20:26:21 2008 Server Stops
Serenity:/home/mark/hme# exit
logout
Photos of the screen are here

So if I run clock first, it works well, not like it did when I ran other samples first last night. The middle picture shows the last digit fading from 0 to 1, a very nice effect.

I then ran animate and the screen showed the corect animation for about a second and then blanked showing an occasional tall rectangle. I took a long sequence of shots at about 2 per second to capture one of the rare appearances of a rectangle. They were appearing every 5 to 10 seconds, in different locations on the screen, but mostly to the right side.

When I exited the TiVo had lost fonts and rebooted. Luckily Smallville is also being recorded on the other TiVo too.

I will try some more later, just thought I would share what I have now. As you can see, there were no exceptions in the code this time around.

CuriousMark
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
Image showing clock changing seconds with a nice fade between digits. I had reported this not working before, but it works fine now, assuming clock is run before an example that messes with the TiVo.


Image showing screen during animate, after it breaks down and stops showing the moving squares.


Image showing all fonts gone after TiVo Button escape from failed animate run.


Hopefully these won't require a password.

I will try the modified the versions you emailed me tonight and let you know how they perform.
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
I found that Effects caused the same problem as Animate -- not too surprising, since it also has many views in constant motion. One interesting thing here: when I inserted a delay, the "Visible" test actually worked (on my S3), for the first time (i.e., that square disappeared and reappeared). This hadn't worked even in the original Java version.

Then I took out the pause, and tried reducing the number of sprites instead. That was interesting. With one sprite, no problems. Two also seemed fine. With four, the first run seemed to freeze, although there was no visual distortion -- just four rectangles stopped. At first I assumed that the TiVo had frozen, but it responded just fine to the TiVo key. So I ran the four-square Animate again, and it seemed to work OK. Then I upped it to eight. Now I could see what I'd missed with four -- it actually started out normal, and only gradually came to a halt, with some squares still moving (based on their last animation, I assume) while others had already stopped; eventually, they all stopped. This happened every time with eight, although there was still no distortion or loss of text. Then I tried scaling it back down and letting it run a long time. Even with just three, after a few hours, I got the distortion and lost text.

Anyway, there doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it, but I kinda knew that already.
I notified Jerry, who is passing the information along to the right people. I also played with skull and bones on my TiVo and it plays and works fine, although it never has more than one thing in motion at a time. Perhaps I need to play it for hours to see if things start getting bad.

I will try 0.5 tonight.
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
But I guess people are losing interest, judging by the number of downloads.
Not at all, I just am not able to spend much time on it right now. I think I am still at 0.5 for my playing around and learning about event driven programming using python and hme. I have only done procedural scripts up to this point and have a lot to learn. In addition to that I probably will put more effort into fixing pytivo on my NAS first. It isn't as stable there as it is on a PC, and I fear it may be resource bound. I am trying to learn enough about Linux to try to look into that. But that is for another forum.

This is great stuff, amazing to me really.
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
I then ran animate and the screen showed the corect animation for about a second and then blanked showing an occasional tall rectangle. I took a long sequence of shots at about 2 per second to capture one of the rare appearances of a rectangle. They were appearing every 5 to 10 seconds, in different locations on the screen, but mostly to the right side.

When I exited the TiVo had lost fonts and rebooted.
I can happily report that the new 9.3 software on my Humax DVD burner TiVo fixes the issues I was seeing in HME, it all works correctly now.
 

·
Forum Denizen
Joined
·
2,620 Posts
Bummer, I only tested it for about 10 or 15 seconds, I guess I should have tried for much longer. It was so nice seeing it behave correctly for the first time ever. Try it again after a day, just in case indexing is pushing it over the edge.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top