TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ConflictMgr DoRecordShowing:
ProposeExplicitSelection returned err errDbNotFound

TiVo customer services advised me to reset the recorder/repeat guided setup.

I’ve done this FOUR times.

(after guided setup I waited several days to allow the downloaded TV programme guide data to “organise itself”)

I’m gutted as I have a lifetime subscription, which is on the TiVo unit (not the person), so if your TiVo box packs up, you loose your lifetime subscription!

TiVo said that my problem should have been resolved by resetting my recorder . The only thing he can suggest is a TiVo service call.

Where on earth would I get this done?

Maybe I should buy EyeTV as I now have a Mac, but nothing beats the real TiVo

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
blindlemon said:
Instead of Guided Setup, have you tried "Clear and Delete Everything"?

This does what it says on the tin and can often cure database corruption problems.

Alternatively, you can trigger a GSOD using the remote by entering a special "kickstart" sequence during startup.

And if that doesn't work, I would (maybe no surprise if you look at my homepage;)) agree that a new drive should fix your problem.
Yes, I have tried "Clear and Delete Everything"

Guys, I appreciate your advice re: changing the hard drive, but I am not a techie. (though I know what linux is and have windows and mac experience)

Perhaps it is a hard drive fault - my TiVo unit has been used non-stop day-in, day-out for three years in a busy student house. (TiVo is loved by all!)

I have sweet talked TiVo and they may allow me to transfer my subscription to another TiVo unit!

This is great news.

But I am scared of buying a unit second hand off ebay that then breaks down!

Also, there are places out there selling TiVo s with HUGE hard drives. I don't need so much space as I watch and delete every few days.