TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using TIVOs for several years (although I haven't been back to this forum for a couple years), however I just noticed something that I hadn't been aware of.
I'm using an old series 1 standalone TIVO, which is networked and have an old version of TIVOWEB and a couple other applications installed.
What I just noticed (not sure why I never noticed this before), is that I just made a 4 hour recording of 2 PBS programs (about French & Indian war, so there is plenty of action if that matters), and also made a recording of a 3 hour 40 min NFL football game (also plenty of action). I expected the 2 recordings to take up about the same space on the disk, however the 4 hour PBS program took up 5 GB of space on the hard drive, according to TIVOWEB, and the 3 hour 40 min football game took up over 7 GB of disk space.
I know this is probably a dumb question, but WHY. Both programs came from an an analog connection to a DTV displaying local channels. I thought that perhaps .mpg files might be smaller for programming with less action meaning less compression is possible, but both programs seemingly have quite a bit of action.
Anyway, WHY does the football game take up so much more space than a PBS show about colonial wars? Is it because there is more action and less compression possible for sporting events?
Thanks, and sorry for the dumb question.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
a4wanman said:
Where is TivoWeb can you check the size of each recording?