TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using my Tivo for about 4 years - but recently changed providers for telephone/internet/tv (btw - I am in France).

I have been using the dialup without no problems - but as the telephone is now over ip, the tivo is far too far from "the box" that provides this connection. So I have to run a 10m cable every couple of weeks - do a forced dialup.

I have done one - and it worked no problem. Now - I have been trying all day without success. I am not sure whether it is me or the pop. I get the message failed - couldn't connect. Apart from waiting until tomorrow - how can I tell if this is me or the pop? This wouldn't normally be an issue - but I only have 3 days worth of listings left.

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
And the silence was deafening....

I have listened into the call from the Tivo on another line - and it appears to dial the number (I have tried 2) but does not want to connect. I have also rebooted.

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sometimes the modem does not seem to dial the number nor all the numbers. When it does - I am unsure whether there the Tivo modem is actually responding. What do all the different messages mean on the Tivo failure. Is there a glossary somewhere?

I don't have another phone cable long enough so I can't try that at the moment.

I have tried 2 pop numbers in France - same result.

Set Phone Avail Detection and Set Dial Tone Detection are both off.

How do I set these dialling prefixes if I am in France and already using a dialling prefix for my number (0860505050,,)?

Thanks.

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Can I ask - what do you mean by "reboot". Is this "restart" or switching the box off and on?? If so - I have already done this and the Tivo works fine. So I am therefore assuming that this means the modem is not fried. Is this correct??

· Registered
13 Posts