TiVo Community Forum banner
2021 - 2040 of 2640 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
I have just completed a new version which now includes a full feature UI called "pyTivo Desktop" which includes TiVoToGo support. I hope it works well for everyone. Please let me know if you have any trouble with it...

New website...

pyTivo Desktop

Release builds
Last Updated - Windows: 9/15/17 4:20pm - v1.6.16
Last Updated - Mac: 8/14/17 1:05pm - v1.6.15

Beta builds
Last Updated - Windows: None
Last Updated - Mac: None

I've created an easier to use/install version of pyTivo. It's compiled into a standard Windows exe and does NOT require you to install python on your PC to work. It also includes a simple UI for setting up and managing shares. Some of the advanced features still have to be setup using the web UI or by editing the config file by hand, but this should be a lot easier for people to get going if all you want to do is transfer videos from your PC to your TiVo or use Music/Photos.

pyTivo_setup.exe

pyTivo_setup.zip (alternative for those getting antivirus warnings with exe)

In a future release I plan to add a UI for some of the advanced settings and maybe the TTG portion too.

I'm also going to try creating Mac and Linux versions too when I have some more time.

Edit: 4/2/17 Updated version with settings dialog
Is there a user manual? I installed the Desktop and it does recognize my TiVo and shows my media key, but it always opens the Settingspage and I'm not sure what it wants me to do. The 'Loading Show List' screens just endlessly shows the loading icon but it never loads the show lists.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
I have been using pyTivo (not the desktop) to transfer shows with no problem. When I try the Desktop app (v1.6.16), once it launch I get the message "Error connecting to pyTivo Verify pyTivo is running and retry". I check the Task Manger and there are 2 pyTivo running on the list. I closed out all the app and the background pyTivo. I click on PyTivo in the install folder and get the following:
INFO:pyTivo:Last modified: Fri Sep 15 16:04:38 2017
INFO:pyTivo:python: 2.7.13
INFO:pyTivo:System: Windows-10-10.0.18362
INFO:comtypes.client._code_cache:Imported existing <module 'comtypes.gen' from 'C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Local\Temp\_MEI11~3\comtypes\gen\__init__.pyc'>
INFO:comtypes.client._code_cache:Using writeable comtypes cache directory: 'c:\users\admin\appdata\local\temp\comtypes_cache\pyTivo-27'
INFO:pyTivo.beacon:Scanning for TiVos...
INFO:pyTivo.beacon:Bedroom - 192.168.1.48
INFO:pyTivo.beacon:Theater - 192.168.1.49
INFO:pyTivo.beacon:Announcing shares...
INFO:pyTivo.beacon:Registering: 2019
INFO:pyTivo.beacon:Registering: kmttg
INFO:pyTivo:pyTivo is ready.

Then I start the PyTivo tray program and start the desktop app from the tray. I get the same message Error connecting to pyTivo. There is no message from the console.
What am I doing wrong? Is there something I am missing? Please help. Thanks.
 

·
Unknown Member
Joined
·
4,708 Posts
Is it OK to just brute force fresh install pyTivo Desktop on a Mac by copying the entire pyTivo Application folder from a working Mac and copying the startup file to the System library? Does the installer really do anything else I need to be concerned about?

I did that and all seems well. I've exercised it pretty thoroughly. Obviously I changed the shares to match the new environment, some file paths, housekeeping. Just want to make sure I'm not open to issues moving forward by not doing a righteous Install.

I had tried to install pyTivo Desktop on a Mac with Catalina OS and the installer failed, most likely because I fool around with my OSs and probably as a byproduct made something incompatible. So I copied pyTivo Desktop over from a working Majave setup.
 

·
TiVoholic by the bay
Joined
·
14,823 Posts
I think the reason you are having problems is Catalina is 64 bit system vs a 32 bit system.
 

·
Unknown Member
Joined
·
4,708 Posts
I think the reason you are having problems is Catalina is 64 bit system vs a 32 bit system.
The brute force copying from a working Mojave continues to work fine, I just have this nagging fear I overlooked something that could bite me someday.

EDIT: After a couple of weeks I'm having all kinds of minor issues. Really trivial, almost nothing. Slight delays, lags, blank list screens that have to be refreshed. Tivos temporarily disappearing every few days instead of every few months as before. Of course my switchover to Catalina and resetting some system settings may be the underlying cause. But my non-standard install of pyTivo is on my mind.

Nobody else here migrated a pyTivo server to Catalina?
 

·
Member
Joined
·
1,697 Posts
I installed pyTivo on my Windows PC desktop, and can see both my Bolt and TiVoHD on the pyTiVo. I can transfer shows to the PC from either TiVo. On the TiVoHD, I can see "My Computer" and the transferred shows as well as initiate a transfer to the TiVoHD. I can't do any of this on the Bolt. Is there a reason why the Bolt doesn't work with pytivo (desktop to bolt)? Am I missing a setting somewhere?
 

·
TiVoholic by the bay
Joined
·
14,823 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
55,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,032 ·
Unfortunately I don’t have a machine capable of running Catalina to test with.

I also tired building pyTivo recently with the newer Node/NPM and the upgraded versions of all the libs and it completely failed.

This stuff changes too fast and every lib is introducing breaking changes, and I just don’t have the time, or motivation, to fix it. And even if I did my Mac will only go up to High Sierra, so that's the best I could ever test on. (no intentions on getting another Mac anytime soon)
 

·
Unknown Member
Joined
·
4,708 Posts
I just don't have the time, or motivation, to fix it. And even if I did my Mac will only go up to High Sierra
Works on Catalina for me, as I previously noted. I am having very minor issues but I think they are coincidental and not caused by Catalina itself.

The Installer does not work for me, again as I noted; my Catalina version of pyTivo is simply a brute force copy over from my previous working version and I'd suggest that to anyone else having install failure. I'm hoping the installer doesn't do anything else subtle.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
55,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,034 ·
I know most Mac programs are just a single file, but because of the way the python packager I use for pytivo, the java packaged I use for tivolibre and the electron packager I use for the UI part all work it was basically impossible cram them all into a single file, so the installer just made more sense.

At this point I think I'm done with updating pyTivo Desktop. I "might" figure out how to get it to build on Windows again so I can fix a small bug that prevents it from working with VideoReDo v6, but only if I can muster the motivation. The Mac build is likely stuck where it's at for good.

With the Edge not supporting TiVoToGo at all, and PC to TiVo transfers having been Removed from hydra, the writing is on the wall. TiVo doesn’t want to support this functionality any more and I don’t want to waste time on something they could kill off at any moment.
 

·
Unknown Member
Joined
·
4,708 Posts
it was basically impossible cram them all into a single file, so the installer just made more sense.
Understood.

Hence my original question, in the absence of an Installer that works any more: Is it OK to just brute force fresh install pyTivo Desktop on a Mac by copying the entire pyTivo Application folder from a working Mac and copying the startup to the System library? Does the Installer really do anything else I need to be concerned about?

(obviously I needed to update paths and such to match the new environment)

As I said before, this is working for me in Catalina. The issues I'm having I'm 90%+ certain are from other causes and I can track them down eventually but I'd love the reassurance that there aren't some other subtleties in the Installer I need to pursue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
At this point I think I'm done with updating pyTivo Desktop.
Dan, I know you didn't want to open source PyTivo Desktop when you created it, but perhaps you feel differently now, in case someone else would like to try updating it?

That probably won't be me because I'm pretty happy w/ the Python 3 version of the original pytivo I've built, so I'm not asking for myself, but others here are developers and maybe they'd want to take a crack at it.

I understand if you don't want to open source it and push the repo to github, but thought it was worth asking.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
222 Posts
Works on Catalina for me, as I previously noted. I am having very minor issues but I think they are coincidental and not caused by Catalina itself.

The Installer does not work for me, again as I noted; my Catalina version of pyTivo is simply a brute force copy over from my previous working version and I'd suggest that to anyone else having install failure. I'm hoping the installer doesn't do anything else subtle.
I have Mac Catalina and also Paralels with Windows 10 and am having no luck with either on in regards to PyTivo. Is there any where to get the files in order to do a "brute force copy". I'm actually moving to a place where they do not have Xfinity access so I'm going to have to sell my Tivo boxes but I'm hoping to pull all the videos off of them first.
 

·
TiVoholic by the bay
Joined
·
14,823 Posts
I'm actually moving to a place where they do not have Xfinity access so I'm going to have to sell my Tivo boxes
Why do you think it wouldn't work at your new location? What would be your Cable service there?

About the only services that won't work is DirecTV, Satellite and IPTV.
 

·
Unknown Member
Joined
·
4,708 Posts
I have Mac Catalina and also Paralels with Windows 10 and am having no luck with either on in regards to PyTivo. Is there any where to get the files in order to do a "brute force copy". I'm actually moving to a place where they do not have Xfinity access so I'm going to have to sell my Tivo boxes but I'm hoping to pull all the videos off of them first.
No one here answered my question about the brute force copying. It seems to work for me. I'm running with Catalina by just copying the whole Desktop pyTivo folder in the Applications folder from a working Mojave system over to Catalina and reconfiguring paths to match the new environment. I think the option to autostart was available only during the original installation, I don't see an option to add that after the fact, so I set that up manually also. Seems to work alright.

Outside of Desktop pyTivo itself, a standalone pyTivo has always run fine on other Catalina computers for me, it's only the Installer of the pyTivo Desktop version that's not worked.
 
2021 - 2040 of 2640 Posts
Top