TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two TiVo boxes -- one is an original Series II Tivo and the second is a Series II Humax TiVo.

Shortly after getting the Humax unit, I upgraded its HD and put the old hard drive away for a rainy day.

A few months ago, that rainy day came, and the older (original) Series II died. It was my secondary unit that I used to record educational programming for school (I'm a high school teacher). This TiVo also has a lifetime sub (so the second TiVo's sub was discounted), and well apparently several months of not calling in caused the discount on my second unit to be removed so it began billing at full price.

The symptoms...
Initially, when plugged in, the lights on the front would come on steadily, the fan would run, and the screen would read "Welcome Powering Up..." That's as far as it would go.

I then had the brilliant idea to throw the HD from the Humax box into the dead TiVo. Sadly, the result was the same.

So my questions:
1) should simply swapping hard drives have worked?
2) could the problem be more than a HD issue (or not a HD issue at all)?

I would really like to get this box back up and running, since it does have the lifetime sub...

Thanks for any help you may be able to offer!

·
FourNow...WaitFive
5,436 Posts
No, swapping the two would not work.

You need an image from someone of your dead one, and the right software to transfer that image to a new blank drive.

See the upgrade center.

·
Registered
865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is this pretty much the same procedure as performing an upgrade (just not on a super-huge drive)?

·
FourNow...WaitFive
5,436 Posts
themango said:
Is this pretty much the same procedure as performing an upgrade (just not on a super-huge drive)?
Yes, except for the image. With an upgrade, you have your own original hard drive as a source for the new TiVo. Here your only copy of that drive (the drive itself) died.