TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a subscription to HBO through DirecTV Now (DTVN) on my Apple TV and I am satisfied with the service. I also have a TiVo Roamio OTA box that I use as a DVR while watching networks, local programming, and other OTA shows, and it's working fine too. Unfortunately, I want more. Specifically, I want to watch HBO GO using the app provided on my TiVo Roamio device rather than Apple TV, because then I could watch HBO in another room using a TiVo Roamio "Mini" device.

When I try to activate HBO GO on the Roamio, I'm directed to enter a code at hbogo.com/activate, which I do. Then HBOGO asks me to select my HBO provider from a list which includes DTVN. (According to some threads I've Googled from as recently as 2017, DTVN wasn't included in the list, but it certainly is included now.) So I select DTVN. Then HBO tells me that my TV service provider (DTVN) doesn't support HBO GO on my device. HBO also tells me they're aware there have been problems with authorizing HBO GO using DTVN credentials, but that the issue "should now be resolved." But apparently it isn't.

It appears DTVN credentials can be used to authorize HBO GO on some devices, but not on a TiVo Roamio. Does anyone around here have any insight into this problem? Thanks.

·
Official Tivo User
398 Posts
Try signing into HBOGO using only the first part of your Directv Now user name, meaning do not use the @email part of it. If it works I think you will be asked to create a new user name for the HBOGO app. There's a long reason but the quick answer is HBOGO is not set up to accept the number of characters required for Directv Now user name. (There's more to it but ....)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)