TiVo Community Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

New here, searched a bit but couldn't find much on my specific problem. On the early morning of 4/23, any season pass I have stopped recording. If I check the To-Do list, every season pass, shows 2 checkmarks ,but the next recording column shows "None scheduled".
-I tried adding a new season pass for a item I found on a local channel that was running in a few hours, and it saved it successfully, and still showed None scheduled in the To Do List.
-Deleting and recreating the same season passes did not fix
-If I find one of the shows in the guide it would normally record as a result of an existing season pass, it shows "this episode will not be recorded".
-Reviewing the "View Recording History" does not display a status for any of the season pass shows it is skipping.
-I probably have 20 or less season passes.
-I've changed the order of them, rebooted
-I've changed settings within some of them, rebooted
-I am able to schedule new single items manually, they record successfully.
All old recordings seem fine, it's like my DVR got stuck in a time loop

[resume]
I've had quite a history, if you want the full skinny read the bottom of the post.
I had been rebooting regularly for various troubleshooting and eventually it displayed an S03 in the connect status. I pressed enter at the channel list and went through the mini guided setup. It took at least 15 hours, but the Garbage Collection ran and schedule downloaded, and everything seems fine right now.

Does anyone know what I can do to fix a scheduling issue? have a preference to keep all the recordings I have. Thanks for your consideration in advance!

System details
TiVo Series3 HD (annual)
11.0n.K1-01-2-652
Service level valid 060518
Today's date Wed May 9 2018, 7:30pm
Program info to May 21, 2018
External eSATA WDC500 gb "WDBook" that was compatible with the TiVo at the time
Service Connection Last Success Tuesday, May 8 10:08pm
(attempt in progress)
GC Wednesday May 9 5:29am
Indexing Wednesday May 9 6:11pm
Guide View Cache to Monday May 14 11:30am
idle

[Full]
This DVR has been in action since mid 2008
it's in a open entertainment center so heat isn't an issue.
For the last few years I have been experiencing intermittent reboots, and it got more serious. As a electronics technician I finally opened it in the fall of 2017 expecting to see bulging caps on the power board. To my surprise they all looked perfect, and after reading around the next obvious culprit is the HD itself. I ran the kickstart for disk checking and SMART failed. I found DvrBARS on a forum and used the tool to image the internal drive to another 160GB drive I had around.
That fixed my stability issues immediately and everything worked, my shows were fine and everything returned to normal.

Fast forward to 4/23, season passes stopped recording. Everything else on the DVR works normally.
I thought maybe the 2nd 160GB drive was bad, I never did any testing with it. I setup a 250GB hard drive I had laying around and used the SEATOOLS utility to erase the hard drive and fully test the drive. I recaptured a new image from the 2nd 160GB drive with DvrBARS and pushed it to the 250GB drive, which worked as expected, but didn't fix my season pass issue.
At this point I had a good backup and I tried so many things, I deleted thumb ratings and suggestions (I have suggestions off anyways) which didn't help
I then finally decided to clear and delete season pass content, after documenting all my current season passes. Of course, it got stuck in a reboot loop, and nothing I did could save it - kickstart 57, 58, and 56 were all unsuccessful.
I rolled back to the 2nd 160GB, under the assumption that the disk itself is not the problem.
It booted successfully and eventually got an S03, which I was hoping maybe had been the root cause this whole time. Goto [resume] above for remainder of current state.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I previously tried from the same image (laid down on the 250GB drive) to clear prog info and todo, which succeeded but didn't fix my problem. I eventually tried clear program and season pass which resulted in unbootable. Something must be pretty corrupt on my running image. It's slow overall and netflix is entirely unusable.

I read about thumb ratings slowing down the UI to near dysfunction, it's not useless but seems slower than I remember. I have found various thumb ratings over time and never considered it. I disabled suggestions long ago, but anything I recorded by default got 1 thumb, which adds up over time.
I feel pretty dumb after looking at craigslist after the last few weeks finding I can get a used lifetime Series3 HD for $100 or so. For years I've wished/lamented I bought lifetime service, but I was concerned at the time as to the longevity of the product and realizing value of the investment. Time makes fools of us all.

I found this other thread about buying used, i'm thinking i'll do some research and pick up a lifetime sub and replace with a 1-2TB and restart from scratch with spare S3HD as a parts donor for possible future issues. The S3 does what I need, but I'd be glad to get rid of the external eSATA and have more capacity overall.
Is There any Update on TiVo support of Series 3?

Thx for the insight, wish I checked this place out years ago, I'm sure I'd be a much happier camper by now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm still subscribed to cable with a multistream card installed. I do like being able to use kttmg to grab shows off the DVR, however the transfer rate is inherently slow on these models. I've not looked into the benefits of newer devices... The netflix function within the S3 is completely unusable from a speed perspective, however I've got about 3 other devices in the entertainment center that will do Netflix natively.

Can you pull shows off the DVR on newer models? At this point a yearly recurring fee, combined with a MCard fee and a tuning adapter fee averages out to a expensive monthly cost.

Drifting off topic, what is the tuning adapter used for? I find that I can't access many channels available to me (FXX for example) as it redirects to a tuning adapter gray screen. I saw an old post further down the threads from circa 2009 where someone mentioned something similar. I recently audited my channels and removed what didn't work, i found 20 or more that would retune to the tuning adapter screen when accessing the channel. However on a cable company provided DVR in the house those channels work fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
LOL - I was out of town Thursday, Friday, and came home today and found new season pass related recordings from last night. Looking at the to-do schedule shows all the season passes scheduled properly now. Seems like things are working for the time being, I'll keep watching the todo for signs of the problem.

In the end all I can think of was fixing S03, and then letting it idle for several days.

Must have needed a vacation or something.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I noticed yesterdaya few obvious shows weren't recording, and my todo list is empty again. Some severe storms rolled through last night and the tivo has rebooted... will check it when I get home tonight if anything is fixed.

Watch for an S03 error
I would also perform the manual garbage collection via channel up method.
Lastly, be ready to miss recordings of shows, if there is something you are dying to record, go set it manually. My issue lasted several weeks the first time.
I am going to rebuild it soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
To add back to what SFhub says, my digital cable being provided has 1 SD version of the channels and at least 2 of the HD channel I had gone through and manually tuned channels and removed them from the guide, but I'm sure that doesn't stop the tivo from downloading data for it.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top