Your house just burned down!

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by 20TIL6, Jul 23, 2007.

1. 20TIL6

20TIL6 BaDoop BaDoop BaDoop

Sep 7, 2006
    Cypress, TX
    And with it, you lost your TiVo(s) with lifetime service.:eek: What could you do?

Would TiVo allow you to get lifetime service on the replacement(s)?

If so, at what cost?

If not, should you attach a special insurance rider to the value of something you can no longer buy?

Before I transferred my lifetime services to my S3 units, I had been using the original units for 7 years. And they were still functional. That's a value of around $700 per unit at the going rate of 3yrs pre-paid.

2. ForrestB

ForrestB New Member

Apr 8, 2004
    Hmm, if my house burned down - I think TV watching would be pretty low on my list of things to do!

3. RoyK

RoyK New Member

Oct 22, 2004
    SW VA
    If you have insurance for replacement value (and if you don't you should - look in your closet and estimate what it would cost to replace your clothes) and you can document the value of your TiVo with lifetime then you shouldn't need any special rider.

4. captain_video

captain_video Member

Feb 28, 2002
    I agree. Getting a new Tivo would not exactly be high on my priority list, especially considering that two homes have burned in my neighborhood over the past three months and one woman is still in the hospital with burns over 30% of her body. I'm sure getting a new Tivo is the furthest thing on her mind. You tend to get a new perspective on things when you see it happen to people you know.

5. ZeoTiVo

ZeoTiVo I can't explain

Jan 2, 2004
    well, assuming no physical injuries adn that another shelter is obtained and food and clothes are taken care of I would want to provide my family some entertaining diversions again.