XP Server for TiVo

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by Bill_Marsden, Jul 12, 2007.

1. Bill_Marsden

Bill_Marsden Bill_Marsden

Jul 12, 2007

Advertisements

My Dad would like me to build a computer to act as a server for his TiVo. I've built many computers, but don't own a TiVo (don't watch that much TV, but my Dad does). Assume somthing like an Athlon XP 2.0 Gig, 1 Gig RAM, 500+Gig HD, 10Meg Ethernet LAN (TiVo is wireless), where would I find the information to do this from scratch. The computer at this point is hypothytical, but easily doable. My dad has read several articles that make him think this is practical, and at this point I don't know either way.

The thought is to treat the server as an extra big hard disk on the TiVo, and make it as automatic as possible.

I am not a network guru, although I have been messing with LANs for almost 20 years.

Any help would be appriciated. Thanks.

2. wolflord11

wolflord11 Lord of Darkness

Jan 16, 2007
    Madisonville...
    I assume you would want something to transfer Tivo recordings to your Home PC, then maybe burn DVD's etc.

An Athlon XP 2.0 would be fine, 1 GB Ram min (I would go for 2) a 500GB HD would be ideal. The ethernet I would get a 10/100/1000 Card. The Tivos work at 10/100 so 100 would be your fastest speed. 10 would be too slow.

Also, Tivo can be wired or wireless. A wired connection is alot faster than wireless and easier to set up.

As for the Tivo, get a Sereis 2 DT. It has the ethernet built in. A Series 2 ST needs an adapter to work.

3. Bill_Marsden

Jul 12, 2007
    Actually, burning DVDs isn't an issue. His Humanix has a really good DVD burner, one I am envious of. Like I said, I want to be able to use the computer HD like it was inside the TiVo box, which is one of the major points of networking after all.

Is this possible?