Xfinity Channel Changing Speed

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Deuga, Aug 12, 2020.

1. Deuga

Deuga New Member

Jul 5, 2020

Advertisements

Today I got my new Edge for cable running. I switched to Xfinity from Ziply Fiber Fios. I'm new to Xfinity so I was bouncing around the channels seeing what's where. One thing jumped out at me is the channel changing speed feels slow to me. There's a 1 to 2 second pause whenever I change a channel with the Edge DVR. I've gotten used to channel changing being instantaneous with Fios cable.

Is this channel changing speed normal?

2. chiguy50

chiguy50 Well-Known Member

Nov 9, 2009
    Atlanta, GA
    The delay could be related to the video resolution of the two channels in question. When there is a different in resolution between channels it can take a second or two for the video to display.

3. Deuga

Deuga New Member

Jul 5, 2020
    I'm seeing a consistent 2 1/2 to 3 second delay to change a wide variety of channels, both HD and SD. It doesn't seem to matter what channel I'm coming from or going to or how I do it. I'd expect this kind of delay, or longer, for a streaming TV service but I've never encountered this in cable TV before.

4. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    I would like to make a suggestion. Pick a channel you know is slow, then perform a restart. When it's finished all tuners will be on that channel. Now use the Live TV button to switch tuners. If there is still a long delay, it may be a defective unit. It there is no abnormal delay, I would look at your video settings and pick the one your TV feels it likes. If you receive only normal cable, choose 1080i and 1080p 24/25 (Streaming only). If you watch 4k streaming, that's a different issue. This is settings on my Roamio:
    video_res.JPG
    I have a 4k TV now, so this is from when I had a 2k. This test will eliminate HDMI sync up.

5. WVZR1

WVZR1 Active Member

Jul 30, 2008
    The WV...