1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would like some advice

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by ssls6, May 15, 2018.

1. ssls6

ssls6 New Member

Jan 24, 2018
    I'm building a new home in Colorado which will be serviced by comcast. I hate the idea of rented multiple comcast boxes so I'm looking at TiVO.

My plan would be......

cable internet into a cable modem/router that feeds a cisco switch.
    The cisco switch would sum up all the cat6 ethernet wire in every room
    Near the cisco switch would also be my plex server

At my main tv location, I would have the tivo bolt/vox? with comcast cable card
    At all other tv locations I would have tivo mini's (5 or 6 of them)
    all the above wired with ethernet

Now on any given TV, I should have access to cable, streaming, & plex.

I'm a TiVo newbie so if my thinking is wrong, how should I change it? Anything else to look out for with TiVo?

2. mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015
    Solid plan, depending on what you mean by streaming. If just Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, Youtube, HBO, then you're golden. Anything beyond that, you'll need additional streaming devices (Smart TV, Roku, AppleTV, Fire TV, whatever).

You may want some additional streaming devices anyway, depending on the apps you want to run. For example, the Hulu app on Tivo is pretty old and doesn't handle profiles like the current app.

And you may want to consider cutting the cord altogether after your new customer discounts expire. I imagine the typical Plex user would have a library of entertainment that does not come from cable TV service. The few cable channels you actually watch are probably available for a lot less money from an OTT service. This would change your hardware to a Roamio OTA (cheaper than a Bolt) plus Minis plus some cheap streaming devices.

3. tapokata

tapokata Active Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Sacramento, CA