Wireless N Adapter Alternative?

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by michael1248, Dec 16, 2016.

1. michael1248

michael1248 Member

Feb 14, 2002
    Here's my dilemma...

My Wireless N Adapter seems to losing connectivity with my HOA wi-fi system when the power goes out.
    (Although I am running it on a Premiere, I thought I would post here, since I also have a Roamio, which has the built in adapter.)

Option #1 - I was thinking about buying some type of router that could pick up the HOA WiFi and then hard-wire it to my Premiere.

Option #2 - Replace my Premiere (which works fine) with a Roamio and hope that, in the event of a power outage, the Roamio reconnects better than the N adapter.

I have no experience with the Roamio's internal WiFi adapter since I hard wire it directly to the router (separate geographical location than my Premiere.)

Suggestions?

2. gigaquad

gigaquad Tivo Image Master

Oct 25, 2004
    I have a buttload of those Wireless adapters made by Tivo. I could send you one for the cost of postage.

Otherwise, you could get a $40.00 router and use DDWRT to make it a repeater/access point. It's fairly straightforward to do that. You could also just run a hard line to the place your Premier hangs out. That's what I did with my Roamios. It's not as hard as it seems and you'll learn a good skill for your next house, friend's house, or your kids' house, etc.

Mikeguy likes this.
  3. gsol

gsol New Member

Dec 13, 2010
    I would like one. How do we do it?

4. krkaufman

krkaufman TDL shepherd

Nov 25, 2003
    So a coax/MoCA network connection isn't doable?

5. michael1248

michael1248 Member

Feb 14, 2002
    I would be more than willing to send you the cost of postage for a spare Wireless N Receiver!

6. michael1248

michael1248 Member

Feb 14, 2002
    Not doable. The free HOA WiFi is not accessible and the place is not wired for cable.

7. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...