Will HD Tivo improve my TWC Digital Cable decoding

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by rcaminos, Jul 30, 2007.

1. rcaminos

rcaminos New Member

Apr 16, 2002
    Albany, NY
    I've been using Tivo and TW Digital Cable for 6 years. I've had no issues for most of my channels but for some reason History Channel, Spike TV, National Geographic and Fit TV have major decoding issues. What happens is the picture becomes pixelated and the audio drops out occasionally and very often. TWC has told me that the issue is that my wires are tangled up which I know is a lie because it's obviously something either wrong with the cable box or something on their end.
    Since the HD Tivo would eliminate the need for a STB, I'm wondering if it would allow me to watch Modern Marvels without the sound dropping out?

2. txagfan

txagfan New Member

Jul 30, 2007
    Texas
    It is possible you have a signal problem. Pixelation, sound drop offs could be too low a signal/ingress in the lines.

3. MickeS

MickeS Active Member

Dec 26, 2002
    Don't let them tell you the problem is on your side. Have them come out and prove it. Most likely they are at fault.

4. TiVoMonkey

TiVoMonkey New Member

Jan 11, 2002
    The Jungle
    If that were true, there would be multiple customers with the same problem, and they'd certainly be aware and trying to fix it.

Cable companies have some sophisticated and not so sophisticated devices that watch all channels for pixelation and other problems that are on their end, and definitely fix them.

They obviously can't see individual customer's pixelation, drops, or sound drop problems with these devices.

Even if the problem is on the customer's end, the customer can't always fix it, and would need someone to come out to find signal problems.

5. ajwees41

ajwees41 Well-Known Member

May 7, 2006
    Omaha,NE

what about the drop from the pole to the house?

ajwees41

6. MickeS

MickeS Active Member

Dec 26, 2002