Will a REAL receiver make a big difference?

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by jnelaine, Jan 21, 2008.

1. jnelaine

jnelaine New Member

Dec 31, 2001

Advertisements

Ok, I know this is a stupid question, but please be gentle - I'm a rookie with audio stuff!

I currently have an HR10-250 DirecTiVo unit, but I only have a vanilla home-theater-in-a-box Panasonic unit (http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?i=133SCHT820&tp=195) to hook it up to. The Panasonic does not have a digital audio input, so I have to hook the TiVo up using regular red/white stereo cables. The Panasonic will convert this to Dolby surround sound, but I've never been impressed at all with the sound.

I assume that getting a REAL receiver (like the Onkyo TX-SR705) will make a big difference, but I just want to be sure. I don't watch many DVDs, so I'm talking about the regular HD shows and sporting events that you get in primetime on the major networks. Do you think there will be a big difference when stepping up to a unit like the Onkyo (I will be keeping the speakers that came with the Panasonic unit)? If the difference only shows up when viewing DVDs with advanced soundtracks, I don't think I'll bother to make a switch.

Thanks for your thoughts!
    Jay

2. Pictor Guy

Pictor Guy New Member

Apr 6, 2003
    Seattle WA
    I can't speak for sporting events since I don't watch but the movies that are broadcast in 5.1 you will notice a difference. But to be honest not many shows are. If you watch lots of premium channels then it may be worth it. I'm someone who's been spoiled by LPCM audio on Blu-Ray and Stereo sound for anything more than news channels is hard to listen to.

3. coachO

coachO New Member

Nov 25, 2004
    near...
    It will make a difference. I have one TV setup without a sound system and then I have another with 7.1 ( just upgraded from 5.1).