Why should I not change to Sky+

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by campbeji, Jan 2, 2008.

1. Jan 2, 2008 #1 of 59
    campbeji

campbeji New Member

Oct 30, 2004

Advertisements

Hi all,

Before I get flamed I have no intention or changing to Sky+.

I got into a discussion with a fried recently with a friend who had got a new sky+ box and was telling me how good it was, he told me I should change away from Tivo because Sky+ was better. Nonsense I thought, but I have had no experience of Sky+ to be able to compare the two.

So what are the pro's and con's of Tivo as opposed to Sky+.

Thanks

Jim

2. Jan 2, 2008 #2 of 59
    blindlemon

blindlemon tivoheaven.co.uk

May 12, 2002
    Malmesbury, UK
    Sky+ = twin tuners, Dolby 5.1 sound
    TiVo = everything else! :up:

Honestly, the Sky+ user interface is utter pants - a poorly thought out, crappy, cheap, addition to the normal Sky EPG. It has about 5% of the functionality of a TiVo.

3. Jan 2, 2008 #3 of 59
    6022tivo

6022tivo A Happy Member

Oct 29, 2002
    UK
    I have to agree with blindlemon

Sky+ is usefull if you need 2 tuners, but you are losing a lot in reliability and use if you go for this reason...

Hard to describe, you will just have to trust me..

I used Sky+ for the minimum 12 months before I ditched it with so much joy.....

Now, if you (as I am) looking at the HD service, that may be a different matter...

I would have Sky HD with the basic sky subscription. I would NOT pay Sky the extra £10 for the HD feed on sky channels. The HD feed from BBC, ITV etc... will be free...

I just want to see how the relaunch of the HD service this spring, with BBC, ITV CH4 all coming on board will work.

I hate the fact that the HD channels are all over the place on different channel numbers..

They should have a option for SD HD in the menu, and the 101, 102, 103 etc... feeds will be the HD ones, if thats what has been set.

4. Jan 3, 2008 #4 of 59
    Automan

Automan Ex TiVo User

Oct 29, 2000