Which TiVo to get

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by KWN1965, Jul 14, 2019.

1. KWN1965

KWN1965 New Member

Jul 6, 2019
    I'm new to the streaming seen . I want get rid of Directv the price I'm paying isn't worth it. Now channel 4 is gone. I would like to use an antenna for my local channels and a steaming service for the other channels . I would like to know which tivo would be best for me and recommendations on a good steaming service.

2. BigJimOutlaw

BigJimOutlaw Well-Known Member

Mar 21, 2004
    First thing I would do is make sure you receive enough OTA channels to make it worthwhile to buy a Tivo. Connecting an antenna directly to a TV and doing a channel scan is the best way to do it.

If you're satisfied with your OTA reception, Tivo has boxes labeled for OTA -- the newest one is the Tivo Bolt for OTA.

The streaming service is tricky. Tivo has Netflix, Amazon Prime and Hulu apps but I don't believe the Tivo apps have live TV streaming support. You would need another device for that, like a cheap Roku or Amazon Fire TV.

Most of the live TV streaming services have free trials. Playstation Vue (doesn't require a playstation), Sling TV, Hulu Live TV, DirectTV Now, Youtube TV, Philo all vary in price and channels so you'll have to do some research on what works best for you. Here's a recent review piece:

Best live TV streaming services: Compare our top picks for July 2019 - Clark Howard

Depending on the streaming service you choose, it may come with the OTA channels you care about and provide adequate cloud DVR service, making the antenna connection and Tivo unnecessary. You may end up being perfectly happy with a Roku + Youtube TV, for example.

mschnebly likes this.
  3. KWN1965

KWN1965 New Member

Jul 6, 2019