what's best solution for watching out of home content

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by marklyn, Jan 24, 2016.

1. marklyn

marklyn Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Austin

Advertisements

I'm going on a 6 week vacation fairly soon and I'd like to be able to watch any content recorded on my Roamio. The Tivo phone app doesn't let me watch most content but some. I'm looking for a solution that lets me watch anything I've already recorded on my Roamio.
    I've done some basic research and eliminated Tivo Desktop since it looks like I'd need to download my content to a laptop before I leave for my trip.
    I'm now investigating slingbox but not sure how it works or if it will work for me. Since I'm new to this concept I'd appreciate knowing what I need on the front end (at home) and when I'm away to accomplish this.

2. BRiT wtfdotcom

BRiT wtfdotcom Active Member

Dec 16, 2015
    Setup a VPN into your home network.

3. marklyn

marklyn Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Austin
    Is there some instructions on how to do this as it relates to watching my recorded Tivo content out of my home?
    Thanks

4. tarheelblue32

tarheelblue32 Well-Known Member

Jan 12, 2014
    Raleigh, NC
    Setting up a VPN is fairly complicated. The easiest solution would be to just get a Slingbox. If you have a 6-tuner Roamio Plus/Pro then you can get HD resolution out of it, but if all you have is a 4-tuner Roamio, then you'll be limited to SD unless you also have a TiVo Mini connected to it, because the 4-tuner Roamio lacks a component output.

5. marklyn

marklyn Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Austin

Advertisements

I have a Roamio Plus with 3 mini's. Can I hook the slingbox up to one of the mini's composite output? Also, what do I use out of the home to watch on a newer TV that has HDMI or USB? Would I use something like a ROKU or Chromcast. That part I'm not understanding.
    Also, if I connect to one of my mini's, how do I change channels or start a recording, etc.?

6. andyw715