What networking solution is my best bet?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by dinojuiceextractor, Dec 3, 2016.

1. Dec 3, 2016 #1 of 15
    dinojuiceextractor

dinojuiceextractor New Member

Dec 3, 2016

Advertisements

Howdy,

I'm new to Tivo and new to MoCA but couldn't resist the cyber Monday sale and the opportunity to not pay $45/month to rent sub-par equipment from Time Warner/Spectrum.

I live in an apartment and purchased a Bolt for the living room and a Tivo Mini for the bedroom (upstairs). I also bought a POE filter and a Tivo bridge (aka Actiontec ECB6000) because my modem and router are not in the living room.

I got the bolt up and running on wifi and have my cablecard installed. When I tried setting up the MoCA network, I couldn't get any connection between the Bolt and the Bridge. Because I live in an apartment, I have limited knowledge of how the coax is wired, but I did have whole home DVR service from TWC so I assume that a MoCA network is possible with my wiring.

Currently in the office I have a coax line to the input of the Tivo-provided MOCA 2.0 splitter, with one branch going to my modem and the other going to my Bridge (MoCA adapter). I then have a CAT5e cable connecting the ethernet port on the bridge to my router. Both lights on the ethernet port are on.

In the living room I simply have the Bolt hooked up to coax that goes into the wall.

I am only getting the Power light on the MoCA adapter, no Coax light. When I try to switch to the MoCA network through the TiVO menus I get error C33 (TiVo Customer Support) which makes me think the splitter between the office drop and the living room drop may not be MoCA compatible (I am unable to access it to check). What is the best procedure to troubleshoot each component to determine the culprit?