VOD Verizon Fios

Discussion in 'TiVo Suggestion Avenue' started by dcarcy1054, Jan 23, 2016.

1. dcarcy1054

dcarcy1054 New Member

Jan 23, 2016

Advertisements

Is there any light at end of Tunnel as to when and if the Bolt will be able to access VOD with Verizon Fios?

2. SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot New Member

Jan 7, 2016
    You would need a Tuning Adapter which FiOS doesn't have because they are primarily used for SDV which FiOS also doesn't do.

3. adubravcic

adubravcic New Member

Jan 23, 2016
    what is SDV?

4. adubravcic

adubravcic New Member

Jan 23, 2016
    I though Fios had a tuning adapter isn't it the same as the card?

5. adubravcic

adubravcic New Member

Jan 23, 2016

Advertisements

I am new to this so please excuse me if I don't understand much

6. BigJimOutlaw

BigJimOutlaw Well-Known Member

Mar 21, 2004
    There's been no particular evidence at this point of Fios VOD coming to Tivo.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2016
  7. jrtroo

jrtroo Chill- its just TV

Feb 4, 2008
    Chicagoland
    Is there even a tunnel?

Cable cards and TA are different things altogether.

8. TonyD79

TonyD79 Well-Known Member

Jan 4, 2002
    Columbia, MD
    Fios only uses a cable card for linear programming. No tuning adapter.

SRI is saying we would need one for On Demand.

9. SomeRandomIdiot

Jan 7, 2016
    It needs someway to communicate as the cablecard is one way.

It IS possible that the TiVo could use the lan connection/FiOS modem to request the VOD, just as it uses it for Amazon or Netflix, but that require a custom software solution, which FiOS has no reason to develop or support.

A Tuning Adapter is the easiest way as it is nothing more than a basic 2-way STB and support is already built in at the MSO - but FiOS does not support Tuning Adapters as they do not use SDV.

10. dmurphy

dmurphy Home Again

Jan 16, 2002
    No, no, and no.