Visions flyer...says Tivo finally coming to Canada

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by Nando84, Nov 21, 2007.

1. Nando84

Nando84 New Member

Nov 21, 2007

Advertisements

I'm a Tivo newbie, I was thinking of buying a Tivo set from Visions (store in Canada), anyone know if the model Visions is selling is any good?

:eek:

2. dswallow

dswallow Save the ModeratŠ¾r TCF Club

Dec 3, 2000
    Long...
    Unless they found some old stock someplace and dumped them in Canada, the models selling there ought to be the current US models... the Series 2DT, a dual tuner SD DVR, and the Series 3 and TiVo HD, both dual tuner CableCARD and ATSC-based HD DVR's.

BTW TiVo DVR's have been supported in Canada for awhile already, it's just them being sold by a Canadian retailer is apparently new.

3. classicsat

classicsat Astute User

Feb 18, 2004
    Ontario Canada.
    It would almost assuredly be a Series 2 DT 80 Hr.

They could have a Series 3 or TiVoHD, but they are practically useless in Canada.

4. scandia101

scandia101 Just the facts ma'am

Oct 20, 2007
    MN, greater...
    A tivo is a tivo. They are all the same quality-wise.

5. scandia101

Oct 20, 2007
    MN, greater...

Advertisements

The Tivo HD and the S3 have more uses in Canada than the S2DT because they can record OTA signals and the DT can't. Is the price difference worth it? probably not for the S3, but the HD is probably most certainly worth it to someone who requires it to record two channels simultaneously from an OTA source.

6. visionary

visionary HAVE BRAIN WILL USE!

May 31, 2006
    Norfolk Va.