Video problems after upgrade

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by dbsanders, Jun 14, 2005.

1. dbsanders

dbsanders New Member

Feb 9, 2003
    Irvine, CA
    Just upgraded my 240040 to a Maxtor 160GB. I used the Weaknees LBA large disk boot CD and everything seemed to go fine.

My problem now is that live TV seems to be ok, but watching recordings or even skipping back during live TV is not. Video freezes and gets "blocky" every 10 seconds or so. I tried setting the drive to quiet and performance mode, and it made no difference (except for the seek noise).

Is this a bad drive? It is a new Maxtor.

2. Rcrew

Rcrew Active Member

Jan 3, 2002
    Tough call. It was my understanding that you're never, ever watching a 'live' feed. So what you see while watching 'live TV' is still the recorded image from disk.

But I'm not an engineer and can't really appreciate the potential for signal path differences between watching a recording in progress, a completed recording, or a trick play, IE: slow motion/rewind.

However, you may have really answered your own question. At the very basic level of diagnosing a problem, what changed most recently.

If your system was working fine before the upgrade, and not it's not, it's probably the upgrade. Can you re-install the original drive and verify it's back to no problems?

3. dbsanders

dbsanders New Member

Feb 9, 2003
    Irvine, CA
    Thanks for the input. The old drive does work fine, and I'm sure the problem has something to do with the upgrade. Just wondered if this symptom pointed to any obvious screw up in my upgrade procedure, or if it sounds more like hardware.

I'm running diagnostics on the new drive now - we'll see what it says.

4. Dkerr24

Dkerr24 Lost in Big Bend

Oct 28, 2004
    Okla, USA
    Check your jumper settings on the new Maxtor drive and make sure it's set to "Master". Setting it for "CS - (Cable Select)" may be the problem.

5. dbsanders

dbsanders New Member

Feb 9, 2003
    Irvine, CA