Video Format For Playing on Tivo?

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by Big-Pat, Jul 28, 2006.

1. Big-Pat

Big-Pat New Member

Dec 9, 2005
    Shoreview, MN

Advertisements

What format does the video need to be to play back on the tivo, when I transfer it to my Tivo with Tivo to Go? Also where on {tivo website}/togo does it say, because I can't find it. If any of you are fimaliar with the MEncoder command line interface, could you tell me what command I need to use I'm still learning it.

2. Dan203

Dan203 Super Moderator Staff Member TCF Club

Apr 17, 2000
    Nevada
    It must be an MPEG-2 Program stream with MP2 audio. Also the vertical resolution of the video must be 480 (i.e. 320x480, 480x480, 720x480 all work) and the aspect ratio should be 4:3. (TiVos support 16:9 video, but some of the newer ones can have issues with it)

Dan

3. Big-Pat

Big-Pat New Member

Dec 9, 2005
    Shoreview, MN
    Thank You very much!

4. rkester

rkester a rkester says what?

Jan 10, 2005
    tulsa area,...
    I believe there is a full list of supported resolutions on the tivo site somewhere if you are one of those folks who wants more details...

Ok, found it...
    http://customersupport.tivo.com/knowbase/root/public/tv251080.htm

As far as 16:9 goes, seems like I remember reading somewhere that the DVD units handled anamophic content OK because of the DVD stuff but the others didnt?

5. Dan203

Apr 17, 2000
    Nevada

Advertisements

Actually that's not true. My Toshiba DVD unit does not like 16:9 downloads even though it plays 16:9 DVDs just fine. Actually for some reason the entire 540 series, including the nightlight TiVos and Toshiba and Humax DVD units, seem to have this problem. The older 140 and 240 units do not, and I have yet to hear how the new DT units handle 16:9

Dan

6. rjmitche

rjmitche Member

Dec 30, 2004
    My experience has been that the new DT units (649) handle 16:9 fine.

7. Dan203

Apr 17, 2000
    Nevada