1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Uverse DSL and Bolt Vox OTA with MOCA

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by lwwphd, Nov 28, 2018.

1. lwwphd

lwwphd New Member

Jul 10, 2018
    Newbie here--I am about to start installing a new Bolt Vox OTA and a new Mini to replace my AT&T Uverse cable service. I've got VOIP, internet, and Uverse TV, and I'm going to keep only the internet service. The TV and the modem are in different rooms, so I've got 2 Motorola MM1000's, one for the Bolt and one for the connection to the Uverse modem.

Since Uverse is DSL, there's no coax feeding the modem. Instead, there's a cable that comes out of a single port surface-mount jack that brings everything (VOIP, internet, and tv programming) in to the RG/modem. Then a coax cable leaves the modem and is connected to a coax wall receptacle, and from there it goes to the basement where's there's a splitter that sends the tv programming to the TV sets. I'm plan on using the existing coax network with MOCA to connect the Bolt and the Mini, and the internet will be supplied by the Uverse DSL. How do I connect the mm1000 in this setup since there is no coax for internet feeding the modem? Looking at TIVO diagrams, it seems that one ethernet cable would go from one of the 4 ethernet out ports of the modem to the mm1000, and that a coax cable would go from the mm1000 to a 2-way splitter attached to the coax wall receptacle. And a coax cable would be attached to the coax outlet on the modem (for internet) and be connected to the other leg of the 2-way splitter, and then the signal follows the same path to the splitter in the basement.

I have read that TIVO with MOCA doesn't work with Uverse internet, but also have read that some people have had success with it. Please advise and thank you very much.

2. ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area