Upgrading from TivoHD to...Tivo Premiere or HTPC?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by ShoutingMan, Jan 28, 2012.

1. ShoutingMan

ShoutingMan Member

Jan 6, 2008
    In essence: should I stay with two TivoHDs, upgrade to a pair of Tivo Premieres, get the Comcast DVR, or build an Win7 HTPC with extender? Wife Approval Factor must be met, since she manages the TV schedules :)

I've been using Tivo since 2006; before that I was a big VCR user :) Through this forum, I got a free S2D2 in 2006, and my wife liked it so much that we upgraded to a pair of TivoHDs in 2009 when we switched to HDTV. The TivoHDs are great (and we're now changing them from OTA HDTV with about 10 channels to a cable-card config with about 1000 channels.)

But it's been three years and I'm interested in upgrading. In particular, I want a four tuner system and faster room-to-room transfers.

A year ago, if asked, I'd have thought without a doubt I'd get the next Tivo. But comments and reviews, online and from a trusted friend, on the Tivo Premiere are generally not good.

So I'm considering a Windows 7 Media Center Computer. The benefit would be a unified media system. I could rip all my DVDs and Blu-rays and have those as easily available as TV. I could have a master tuner system that controls all TV recording, and is distributed to the bedroom extender (no more juggling programming of two independent boxes). It could play my music (Tivo won't play music from a Mac computer).

Cost is not a big factor. I'm paying monthly currently. If I upgrade to Premieres, I'l get lifetime. My cost estimates for Tivo show a minimum of $800 for the next three years, and at least $1000 for an upgrade.

Option 1:
    Keep current pair of TivoHD's
    $22/mo for 3 years
    Total: $790

Option 2:
    Upgrade to Tivo Premiere: 2 * $100
    $20 + $15 / mo for 3 years
    Total: $1460

Option 3:
    Upgrade to Tivo Premiere: 2 * $100
    2 x $400 Lifetime subs
    Total: $1000