transfers between TiVos have suddenly slowed dramatically

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by smoberly, Oct 25, 2011.

1. smoberly

smoberly Member

Jul 6, 2004
    Plano, TX
    I have a Premier in the living with a 1 TB external hard drive that I use for storing all of my programming. The hard drive is currently approximately 45% full. The TiVo is connected to my AT&T Uverse gateway via an Ethernet cable. I have a Series 3 in the master bedroom that is connected to the network via a TiVo wireless adapter. I store very little programming on this DVR and generally use it only for transferring and watching programming. It is approximately 50% full.

Historically, I could transfer a 30 minute show in 10-15 minutes....start the transfer, wait about five minutes, start the show and be able to watch it until the end...with the transfer speed exceeding my rate of watching the show.

Over the last couple of weeks, the transfer time from the Premier to the Series 3 has increased dramatically, taking over an hour to transfer a 30 minute show. The transfer time from the Series 3 to the premier has not changed.

I have made no changes to anything in my apartment. I have re-started the internet gateway and both TiVo's.....no change.

Does anyone have any other recommended troubleshooting steps that you may have to help diagnose and solve my problem of the increase in transfer time from my premier to my Series 3?

2. lillevig

lillevig Cold in East Iowa

Dec 6, 2010
    Marion, Iowa