Torchwood 9/8/07 BBCA SPOILERS

Discussion in 'Now Playing - TV Show Talk' started by sieglinde, Sep 10, 2007.

1. sieglinde

sieglinde Active Member

Aug 11, 2002
    Sebastopol, CA
    I think this one will have to grow on me. I do like police woman character and the Captain Jack character but the pilot was just too much getting things started. The story improved when the police were identifying the weapon and getting closer to solving the crime.

2. latrobe7

latrobe7 What, me worry?

May 1, 2005
    Orange...
    I liked it, but I'm a Doctor Who fan and I've been waiting awhile for it to come on here. My GF did not like it, though. She had never seen Doctor Who before we started dating, and has only seen the ones from the new season; so I thought this would be a show we could both enjoy from the start.

I was surprised when she said she liked Doctor Who better! She said that Doctor Who knows it's cheesy and plays it tongue-in-cheek, while Torchwood seems to be taking itself too seriously. She hated Captain Jack; said he was too smug.

Oh, well, maybe it will grow on her...

3. dianebrat

dianebrat wait.. I did what? TCF Club

Jul 6, 2002
    boston'ish
    FWIW I loved Torchwood (caught the BBC airings) and it got me back into Doctor Who, so that says a lot.

But I have to give a word of warning, the first season is very uneven in quality, fun show, solid concept, but varied quality of execution.

The 1st 2 episodes were outstanding, with the 1st being especially good, LOVED the pizza delivery issues.

4. cheesesteak

cheesesteak Meh. TCF Club

Jul 24, 2003
    15 mins...
    I thought the first Torchwood episode was terrific.

We've got three (soon to be two) charaters who don't die currently on tv. Claire from Heroes, Capt. Jack Harkness and the soon to be gone Painkiller Jane.

5. Amnesia

Amnesia The Question

Jan 30, 2005
    Boston, MA
    I thought you said PKJ couldn't die! How can she be gone?