To Upgrade or Not (If I do, Bolt or switch to X1?)

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by nyjack, May 18, 2019.

1. nyjack

nyjack Member

Mar 9, 2013

Advertisements

My primary TiVo is a 6 tuner Roamio Plus (all-in service plan) along with a TiVo Mini. I’ve recently noticed some issues with my Roamio such as self-rebooting & screen lock-up (have to power cycle to “fix”). Because of these issues & anticipating what I expect, an inevitable crash, I’m thinking about an upgrade. My cable/internet provider (only one available) is Comcast/Xfinity (OTA won’t work here). If I go to a Bolt it will cost me $300 for a 6 tuner Bolt & $550 for the All-in service plan, total $850 (or I could go with the monthly plan for $15). I’m pretty sure that my TiVo Mini will work with a Bolt. My other option is to trade in the existing X1 box I have for an X1 DVR to replace TiVo. Xfinity’s Stream app will give me access to live & recordings. I’ve been using TiVo since @2003 and would prefer to stay, but the dollars don’t seem to make sense. I’d like to hear opinions & experiences others have had in any similar situation. Sorry for the long post but wanted to give all info.

justen_m likes this.
  2. rcandsc

rcandsc Mark it 8 Dude..

Feb 5, 2014
    Liberty, MO.
    You might want to look at a hard drive upgrade from Weaknees.com. If the Roamio is indeed failing because of a hard drive failure, this would be a much more cost effective way to upgrade to a larger hard drive and still keep the all in plan you have on the current Roamio.

dishrich, jrtroo and unclehonkey like this.
  3. V7Goose

V7Goose OTA ONLY and Loving It!

May 28, 2005
    New Mexico...
    Yeah, a hundred bucks and you can drop a new 3TB drive into that box without doing anything else at all.

Bigg and unclehonkey like this.
  4. nyjack

nyjack Member

Mar 9, 2013