TiVotoGo for Mac-Alternative?

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by Meg3881, Mar 18, 2006.

1. Meg3881

Meg3881 New Member

Mar 10, 2006
    I just bought a 540 series 2 tivo.My first TiVo and I can't use HMO unless I have a pc? Don't think so. Have G4 desktop and iBook... Looked thru A LOT of threads...about a week later I put pieces together and did the following:On my G4 I went to Safari, Bonjour. Typed in (I can't put in url... my ip address forward slash nowplaying forward slash index dot h t m l
    Downloaded show from there. On Virtual PC I used Dirct Dump (I don't even use TiVo Desktop on VPC) and formatted it from tivo format to DV format using ffmegx.(Both downloaded from internet for free.) VPC I already had. For movies I recorded from HBO (no commercials) I burned to DVD using Toast. With commercials I use iMovie. It was easy to do and I am a newbie! I'm sure a lot of you are very tech savy but just wanted to post for those of us less so :) It didn't take long to complete whole process. I can watch on my iBook, too, using Quicktime. It is an option until/if TivoToGo ever works with Mac.

2. TydalForce

TydalForce Active Member

Feb 8, 2006
    Philadelphia...
    nice work
    i'll have to try that out myself (c:

3. paulyras

paulyras New Member

Dec 25, 2005
    Here's another solution. First, let me say that I'm a mac junkie, but I don't have anything against Mr. Softy per se (OK, I really despise them, but I can live with it). I have a 20 inch intel iMac for a kitchen computer (which my girlfriend still insists we don't need), and intel core duo mini attached to my living room HDTV (sitting right next to the tivo).

As you may know, a couple days ago, someone successfully booted XP pro on intel macs. Being a tinkerer, I spent the last day getting Windows Media Center Edition running on the iMac (which kinda sucks because there's no video drivers yet, so it refreshes really slow).