Tivo Series 1 to a Digital TV

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by aduetto, Oct 16, 2011.

1. aduetto

aduetto New Member

Feb 6, 2002
    Northern VA
    Ok, I'm way behind the times, and this has probably been answered many times.

I have DirecTV coming in to an RCA box, cabled to my Series 1 Tivo, then cabled to my 40" Mits analog tv. I have a lifetime subscription on my tivo and I've up'ed the hard drive to 80 megs.

But my 15 y/o Mits is dying!!! :eek: Analog tv's are gone and I don't know much about digital tv's. Cry, wimper, sniff! :(

If I get a digital tv, can I run the s-video and audio cables to it and get a good picture. I'm not after HDTV at this point.

Thanks,

Alex

2. scandia101

scandia101 Just the facts ma'am

Oct 20, 2007
    MN, greater...
    Yes, that is if you can find a TV that has s-video. You'll probably have to use the yellow rca video cable.

3. wmcbrine

wmcbrine Well-Known Mumbler

Aug 2, 2003
    Yes. Although s-video is being phased out by a lot of manufacturers (including TiVo -- no s-video on the Premiere), so you might have to settle for composite.

Probably not. I dunno, maybe the situation has improved. But when we first got a plasma in 2004, and hooked it up to a DirecTiVo, it looked awful. That's not even considering the aspect ratio problems.

4. aduetto

aduetto New Member

Feb 6, 2002
    Northern VA
    Bummer! It's painful to be on the tail end of technology.

So, s-video is gone or almost so. My tivo can also do composite, but the picture may be poor. I guess my first course of action will be to ask about that. The salesmen will love it, although they should be familiar with it. Quite a few of the sales people I've seen are almost too young to remember tube sets. :)

Thanks for the help,

Alex

5. replaytv

replaytv gun talk ignore list

Feb 20, 2011
    Denver ish...