Tivo Premiere Online Content

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by hoffadg, Apr 27, 2011.

1. hoffadg

hoffadg New Member

Apr 27, 2011
    After my DirecTV bill went up $30 recently, I'm seriously considering "cutting the cord". I'm trying to decide between going with the Tivo Premiere or the Roku box. I can get a few channels with my OTA antenna, but most of what I watch will be streamed from the Internet. In terms of online content, what would I be missing out on if I go with Tivo over Roku?

I'm somewhat new to the idea of streaming TV. Bascially, I would like to be able to watch all of the cable and network TV shows I watch now. Is it a safe assumption that just about everything you can get through satellite/cable service is available as streamed content on Tivo?

Thanks,
    Dan

2. duncan7

duncan7 Member

Sep 17, 2004
    I wouldn't say that's a safe assumption, at all. You won't be able to watch stuff served off the networks' own websites on a TiVo and even Hulu is still just a gleam in TiVo's eye, as far as I can tell. I've had no real problems with Netflix and Amazon VoD, though amazon's content isn't streaming and Netflix DVDs might actually arrive faster, but you're a season behind for network TV with those.

3. atmuscarella

atmuscarella Well-Known Member

Oct 11, 2005
    Rochester NY
    You didn't say what type of TV your have but I can tell you that allot of the free streaming content is significant lower quality than OTA HD. If you have a larger HD TV you may not be very happy.

I would also say that you should not expect to replace all or even most of new/premium content that is on cable/satellite. With good OTA reception it is easy to replace all the major network (ABC, CBS, CW, NBC, FOX, ION TV, My TV, & PBS) content but you said you had OTA issues so that maybe a problem.