Tivo newb with a problem

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by gar187er, Jan 19, 2006.

1. gar187er

gar187er New Member

Jan 19, 2006
    West...

Advertisements

I got a series 2 for x-mas, and have it hooked with s-video and rca audio to my home theatre setup...receiever, powered sub, dvd, cable box, 31" widescreen TV...

My problem is daily freezing during recording...I need to unplug and hard reset the system..it happens at varying times, but I read about the TivO not being able to supply enough power to the HDD when recording if it is shared on a surge protector...

I'm not a newbie when it comes to computers, but as far as the TivO drive, its just a matter of popping the case open unplugging the drive and running diagnostics on it in my PC?

2. funtoupgrade

funtoupgrade New Member

Mar 15, 2005
    That works, but best to download drive fitness utility from hard drive manufacturer's web-site and run it from DOS floppy. If a Tivo disk is booted by XP you can make it unbootable in a TiVo. There is a utility somewhere to fix this but if you have a floppy drive why risk it?

Did you change any of the hookups after running the initial guided setup? If so, you might consider running a clear and delete everything which puts it back to out of box condition.

3. stevel

stevel Dumb Blond TCF Club

Aug 23, 2000
    Nashua, NH
    I'm not sure what you read about "not being able to supply enough power", but that isn't true. A surge protector would have no effect. (I do recommend putting TiVo on an uninterruptible power supply to protect against power dropouts.)

The daily freezing sounds like disk corruption. It is unlikely that any diagnostic you can run on a PC will tell you anything, but you can certainly try. Just be sure to use a diagnostic that boots from its own CD or floppy and that you do not boot Windows with the TiVo drive attached.

What I would recommend instead is to have the TiVo try to repair database corruption.