Tivo+Netflix = Hard reset

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by Lykaon, Dec 8, 2008.

1. Dec 8, 2008 #1 of 74
    Lykaon

Lykaon New Member

Dec 8, 2008

Advertisements

So I just started playing with the new Netflix streaming today and it has been a nightmare. I'm able to get the code and view my queue quite easily, but no matter what movie I choose, the following happens:

* It says I have high quality and begins the bar at the bottom
    * I get some audio that sounds like its from the middle of the movie (clearly not the beginning)
    * The unit hard resets and goes through its extremely painful reboot process after less than 2 minutes of videoless playback (somtimes with odd 'beeping' throughout the audio).

I've done this 6 times now, all with the same result. Reading the other threads on the Netflix feature here, it sounds like most people are getting flawless results.

I don't have problems with anything else. I can stream YouTube, watch Amazon Unbox movies, and pretty much everything else I've tried with absolutely no issues.

I have Verizon FIOS, with 2 cable cards. I've had it running for almost a year now flawlessly. It is a TiVo Series 3.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.

2. Dec 8, 2008 #2 of 74
    moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...
    Is your Tivo running software version 11.0.x? If not then that may explain the problem. It sounds to me like your Tivo doesn't know how to decode the Netflix stream properly which is something that was added in 11.0 software.

3. Dec 8, 2008 #3 of 74
    Lykaon

Lykaon New Member

Dec 8, 2008
    Yes it is. I don't think it would give me the Netflix option if it wasn't anyway.

But it is. I got the update, and the message about it and everything.

4. Dec 8, 2008 #4 of 74
    moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...