TiVo Kaput, what now?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Lampei, Jan 4, 2006.

1. Jan 4, 2006 #1 of 10
    Lampei

Lampei New Member

Feb 1, 2002
    Clearwater, FL
    My TiVo has gone kaput :( (I think it may have been a power surge) and I have a lifetime subscription on the box. Does anyone know if TiVo would allow me to switch the subscription to a new box (I own a Sony SVR-2000, but would probably end up purchasing a Series 2 of some sort).
    Thanks.

2. Jan 5, 2006 #2 of 10
    funtoupgrade

funtoupgrade New Member

Mar 15, 2005
    You basically have two options. Have Sony repair the unit ($150 and up) or sell it off as is on eBay and buy a new unit. Lifetime subs stay with unit and are not transferrable to another unit unless a lifetime unit is replaced by the manufacturer.

3. Jan 5, 2006 #3 of 10
    simonalope

simonalope New Member

Jun 2, 2004
    People's...
    Your third option is to try and fix the TiVo yourself. If it's the harddrive, that's a pretty easy fix. If it's the power supply, Weaknees can sell you a replacement and instructions for installation.

4. Jan 5, 2006 #4 of 10
    Stanley Rohner

Stanley Rohner New Member

Jan 18, 2004
    oklahoma
    Please explain kaput to us.

Did it explode ?

Catch on fire ?

Does it do anything when you plug it in ?

Does it start up but get stuck at the - almost there - screen ?

5. Jan 5, 2006 #5 of 10
    Lampei

Lampei New Member

Feb 1, 2002
    Clearwater, FL
    Nope, no lights, nothing, no hd noise. Pretty sure something's fried in there.

6. Jan 6, 2006 #6 of 10
    MadGreek

MadGreek New Member

Sep 27, 2003
    Texas
    I had a TiVo die on me back in the summer. I had purchased this in 2003 with a Lifetime subscription. I called TiVo and they said to fill out a TiVo Exchange Form which I sent to their RMA center with the broken TiVo and a few days later I got a refurb TiVo at a cost of $79. Doing it this way keeps your Lifetime service intact.

7. Jan 6, 2006 #7 of 10
    Lampei