Tivo HD XL repair and resale options...

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by michaelkingdom, Feb 4, 2012.

1. Feb 4, 2012 #1 of 13
    michaelkingdom

michaelkingdom New Member

Jul 13, 2006
    Hi,

I have a HD XL that started going into infinite loop when we have a power outage. It gets stuck on the powering up loop. I have a lifetime subscription on it.

I have purchased a new Tivo Premiere to replace it.

Please help me choose the best course of action:

A) Repair Tivo XL via Weeknees, etc. at an estimated $200 - $300 and then sell on eBay for $300-$400? (Profit = $0 - $200)

B) Bury it in my backyard.

C) Sell it as a broken unit on eBay?

2. Feb 4, 2012 #2 of 13
    farmermac

farmermac Recorder of shows

Jan 31, 2012
    sell as broken unit on ebay. It'll net more then $200, almost guaranteed.

3. Feb 4, 2012 #3 of 13
    replaytv

replaytv gun talk ignore list

Feb 20, 2011
    Denver ish...
    I might be interested in it if you are in the Denver front range area

4. Feb 4, 2012 #4 of 13
    shwru980r

shwru980r Well-Known Member

Jun 22, 2008
    Look for a used Tivo HD without lifetime service on Craig's List and swap out the drive with your lifetime Tivo.

5. Feb 5, 2012 #5 of 13
    michaelkingdom

michaelkingdom New Member

Jul 13, 2006
    Is the drive swap pretty easy -plug n play like computer drives?

6. Feb 5, 2012 #6 of 13
    L David Matheny

L David Matheny Active Member

Jan 29, 2011
    SE Ohio
    If you do as shwru980r suggests, buying the exact same model TiVo (HD XL) with a good drive but no lifetime service off Craig's List (or eBay), then yes, you should be able to just swap drives and reboot. Because the TSN would have changed, you would then have to do a "Clear & delete everything" before you could record anything, but the unit should be fixed. Installing a larger drive in a TiVo is a bit more involved, but still not too difficult.

7. Feb 5, 2012 #7 of 13
    unitron

unitron Well-Known Member

Apr 28, 2006