TiVo died? :(

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by manolan, Jan 10, 2012.

1. manolan

manolan New Member

Feb 13, 2001
    LONDON, UK
    So, I came back after Xmas to discover that my TiVo won't boot. It goes through the cachecard startup and then switches off after caching data. I haven't noticed any handy error messages appearing on screen!

The TiVo had not been switched to the AltEPG as I was mainly using it to watch the large backlog of programmes! The cachecard was originally installed because the modem had committed suicide. I remember that had a disproportionate impact on the boot process, but I don't think it can be that again.

The hard drive and cachecard came from TiVo Heaven pre-configured, so I have no experience of doing the detailed stuff myself. But I'm fairly experienced in using different flavours of Unix (but not down at fstab sort of level!), so the Unix toolset is familiar to me.

I have a spare TiVo in the attic, so I could (following chips34's experience) put the HDD in it and see what happens. I also have an external IDE enclosure, so I could mount the drive on another computer and take a look if there are any useful log files.

If I'm going to do that, presumably there are still some gotchas when mounting a TiVo drive under Windows. Is that the case with all flavours of Windows, including Windows 7? And is there any way round it, or do I have to boot one of my machines into Linux?

Which route would the experts take?!

2. drgeoff

drgeoff Member

Nov 10, 2005
    Do not put a TiVo disk in, or attach via USB or Firewire to, a PC which will boot into Windows. Windows has a nasty habit of writing things to the boot sector and this will cause problems for a TiVo.