TiVo Desktop Plus hangs after starting

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by justrick, Sep 19, 2011.

1. justrick

justrick New Member

Dec 23, 2009
    After I start TiVo Desktop Plus, it hangs. No amount of restarting, terminating TiVo processes, etc. seems to help.

I believe it's the latest version (2.8?), but I can't check because, well, it's inoperable. Any thoughts on what to do?

2. RMBittner

RMBittner Member

Aug 19, 2003
    Charlotte,...
    Yes, 2.8 is the current version (although I think it's several years old). You should see the version number on the splash screen you get the minute you launch the program. (I'm assuming the "hang" happens after that, as the program is loading, searching for your TiVo hardware, etc.)

I'm no expert, just a long-time user. But I think we're going to need to know more about your setup before we can offer any suggestions.

What TiVo box are you using? How is it connected to your network? Have you tried restarting your computer? Anything more you can tell us will help.

Bob

3. steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    2.8.2 is the latest version. Look for the TiVo guy in your system tray. You can access the Tivo Server Properties without having to start Tivo Desktop.
    Right click on the TiVo guy and select Tivo Server Properties.
    Under the 'About TiVo Server' tab, you will see what version of TD you have.
    Under the 'Access Control' tab, make sure your Tivo(s) are listed.
    Under the 'Network' tab, if you are currently using Bonjour, try switching to TiVo Beacon (or vice-versa).

4. windracer

windracer joined the 10k club

Jan 3, 2003
    St. Pete, FL
    Try clearing the cache. Make sure no TiVo*.exe processes are running and then delete everything under:

C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\TiVo Desktop\Cache

(assuming you're running Vista or Win7)

5. ggieseke

ggieseke Well-Known Member

May 30, 2008