Tivo Desktop 2.5 question (Video)

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by Vespa, Aug 9, 2007.

1. Vespa

Vespa Curious

Jan 4, 2002
    37.1400(N)...
    I installed Tivo Desktop 2.5 on my Windows Vista Ulitimate machine, and I can't seem to get my Tivo HD to see any videos on the machine. I have some DiVX files and plain old WMV files in the 'My TiVo Recordings.' When I look on my Tivo HD's NOW PLAYING list, I don't see any of my videos.

I can see my photos and music from that computer, so I can't seem to figure out what is wrong. I have never used TD before, so maybe I am missing something basic?

Any ideas?

TIA.

2. TokyoShoe

TokyoShoe Frustrated TiVoHD'er

Jul 27, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    This feature is apart of the "TivoToGo" package of features, which .. alas, is NOT enabled on the Series 3 Tivo's yet (including your and my TiVo HD). Yes... I was as upset and disappointed as you probably are right now.

Apparently TiVo Inc. wants to take an "All or Nothing" approach to this feature, holding off entirely on its' release and enabling until they get one or two last minute legalistics and quirks regarding HD video files ironed out. You'll be able to share music to your Tivo, share photos to your Tivo.. but you will not be able to pull Tivo recordings off your Series 3.. nor will you be able to share videos TO the Series 3. TivoToGo has to be enabled for that, unfortunately.

3. Vespa

Vespa Curious

Jan 4, 2002
    37.1400(N)...
    Well that sucks. It would be nice if they maybe added some text to that tab in the Tivo Desktop to spell that out.

It sucks indeed.

4. morac

morac Cat God

Mar 14, 2003
    NJ
    TiVo Desktop isn't the issue, it's the TiVo HD. If TiVo were to enable transfers on the TiVo HD today, TiVo Desktop would work with it. So putting text on the tab that it doesn't work with the S3/HD isn't the right way to go.