TivO Bolt OTA failed Case 09503827

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by AZ_Curt, May 11, 2020.

1. AZ_Curt

AZ_Curt New Member

Mar 31, 2020
    I Purchased my Bolt last June and started having problems with it about a couple weeks ago. Channels started disappearing. So I began to research the problem as well as opened the above ticket number. A search on these forums reveals this is a known issue.

Here are my findings and what I advised Support of.

This antenna/coax configuration produced 90% or higher signal strength on two TV's and an SiliconDust HD-Homerun OTA device.
    I found the coax connector on the BOLT was hot to the touch.
    After being unplugged for a few hours the missing channels returned.
    Adding an external cooling fan prolonged the loss of the channels, but they still died.
    Being an amateur radio operator I noticed spurious emissions on some 440Mhz frequencies which were tracked to the Tivo Box.
    The emissions died when the lost channels were unable to be revived by any means.

Here is the reply from TiVo In short it is not their problem and they refuse to do anything about it.

Hello Curtis,

Thank you for contacting TiVo Email Support.

We appreciate for responding. Upon checking, your TiVo box is not getting the enough amount of signal required for you to have a good reception. I would greatly advice to get an antenna signal booster to increase the amount of signal you will get from your antenna.

The Case Number for this inquiry is 09503827.

Sincerely,
    Kevin

TiVo Customer Support Representative
    www.tivo.com/support
    http://forums.tivo.com

Flame away.

2. kpeters59

kpeters59 Well-Known Member

Jun 19, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    You probably blew their minds.

I'd call in and provide much less detail and steer them towards replacing it for you. They're fairly prone to offering a replacement, even if they'd bill you for a couple dollars.