TIVO BOLT+ not compatible with my cable provider - I'd be willing to beta test

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by DVRanger, Apr 18, 2018.

1. DVRanger

DVRanger New Member

Nov 28, 2017

Advertisements

Hi all,
    So here is my story. I posted back here a few months ago about pixelation on my Tivo Bolt+.

Let's just say things did not end well. I had been using a Tivo Premier Elite for 4-5 years, rock solid. And I am back to using it. The Bolt+ simply was not compatible with my provider and eventually the incompatibility got bad enough that I was losing ability to see channels every other day - No program lock despite good signal, good SNR, and good cablecard authorization. Basically everything looked fine except was losing program lock, v53 errors, v58 errors, pixilation, etc.

I tried the following:
    * Calling out the cable tech to test the lines, no problem found
    * All sorts of different splitter configurations and brands
    * Multiple cable cards
    * Multiple POE filters
    * Multiple combinations of attenuators
    * Two TiVo Bolt+ Devices

In the end the only solution was returning the Bolt+ and going back to the Premier Elite which 100% worked fine when the Tivo Bolt+ couldn't tune a single channel. The thing that is most odd is that I know someone else on the same system (though not same town, about 4 miles away) who has the same provider, same cablecard brand, same system - yet Tivo Bolt Vox works about 95% fine (still gets some pixilation but very minor).

If TiVo is reading this and ever comes out with a new piece of hardware with different tuners I'd be willing to beta test it. Apparently I am in a "worst case scenario" for the Tivo Bolt tuners where I am. I really, really, really liked the bolt but in the end it just wasn't compatible and nothing I nor tech support could do would fix it.

hankuro likes this.
  2. tlogue

tlogue New Member

Sep 29, 2010