Tivo automatically tunes to channels

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Jinkx, Dec 31, 2018.

1. Jinkx

Jinkx New Member

Dec 29, 2018

Advertisements

Hello Everyone, I didn't see my question after doing several searches. I am sorry if I missed it.

I am new to Tivo. I primarily watch sports. The problem I am having is that the Tivo box is tuned to a channel when I first turn my TV on. I don't want it to be on anything when I turn the TV on because it may be on and in the middle of the game I am wanting to watch which is a problem for me.

In general, I would rather it not be on anything until I choose what to watch. I called tech support. They told me to turn off suggestions. It is still doing it after the suggestions were turned off.

As a workaround, I have turned off video playing in the background and am hitting the guide button before I turn the tv on. I am not crazy about this solution though.

Just yesterday I planned to watch the game. I got home an hour after the game started. I turned on the tv and it was on ESPN which was scrolling all the game scores. I quickly paused it and started my recorded game.

2. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    Before powering on your TV, select a channel, by number, that will never have sports. For me, that world be 4 (PBS). Even 0 would work.

dfreybur, Jinkx and PSU_Sudzi like this.
  3. PSU_Sudzi

PSU_Sudzi Well-Known Member

Jun 4, 2015
    Philly suburbs
    There is no way to prevent this aside from what Joe just recommended. You could get a TiVo Mini and hook that up to your primary TV and move your TiVo to another location in your home. TiVo Minis by default will start with no active viewing window if it has been inactive for more than 4 hours or you hit the TiVo button on the remote before turning the tv off.

Mikeguy and Jinkx like this.
  4. Jinkx

Jinkx New Member

Dec 29, 2018