Tivo and Telewest

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by dunnel, Feb 17, 2006.

1. dunnel

dunnel New Member

Jan 21, 2005

Advertisements

I have been using my Tivo for several years and have recently upgraded the system for the second time to 320GB. I currently have it configured to record from the internal tuner (channels 1 to 5) and also from a sky digibox. I plan to keep Sky but Telewest are currently offering a deal where if I add digital TV I will pay 50p less a month (I have their BB and phone already). I have looked at several posts on the type of cable boxed and Tivo compatibility but can anyone tell me what the latest box Telewest supplies. I did try calling Telewest but did not get an answer.
    I don't mind if I need to purchase an adapter from Tivoland but I am worried that I may get a box that the Tivo cannot control and so would be a waste of time.

Anyone help.

2. cwaring

cwaring VM Tivo User

Feb 11, 2002
    Knaresboroug...
    Hi there!

To coin a phrase, Don't Panic! :)

You will get either a Pace box or one from Scientific Atlanta. Either will work perfectly well with you Tivo although, as you suspect, you may indeed need to purchase the Cable Adapter.

I really hate to say this but don't forget that Telewest are about to lauch their new TVDrive sometime soon and it does seem to work rather well and could be a fairly good replacement for a Tivo :eek: even though it's not quite as good in some areas; mainly to do with the lack of meta-data.

3. mike0151

mike0151 A Friend of Dot

Dec 13, 2001
    Liverpool,...
    Death Threats to Carl start HERE..... LOL the ex TiVo Tart

Ignore him, just join the TiVo Clan - you can't do better hehehhe

4. cwaring

cwaring VM Tivo User

Feb 11, 2002
    Knaresboroug...
    Well, seeing as TVDrive has 3 tuners and 2 decoders, it's certainly better spec'd right from the off :) Plus it's recording the stream direct not encoding/de-encoding.