Tivo 2 hard drive swap

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by crmndza, Nov 16, 2011.

1. crmndza

crmndza New Member

Nov 16, 2011
    I have two Tivo 2 DVR's both are TCD24004A. I have a belive I have a dead hard drive in my lifetime one. So I swapped out the dead one with the other TCD 24004A. I'm a newbie so patience with me if this question has been posted already..Do I need to clear and delete ? I haven't powered up since the swap? How do I clear and delete ? Will I get past the Welcome screen to access Tivo central?... Thanks in advance

2. cannonz

cannonz Well-Known Member

Oct 22, 2011
    Select -messages and settings- then -restart or reset system- then -clear and delete everything-. I recently asked same question if it was in another tivo you will have to clear it.

3. dwit

dwit Active Member

May 4, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    Yes. You will need to do a "Clear and Delete Everything". This is done by starting at the Tivo Central Menu screen, then select "Messages & Settings",> "Restart or Reset", > "Clear and Delete Everything".

The Tivo will then restart and boot to a screen advising that the process will take an hour or longer. It will then eventually boot up to the initial set up screen("choose location/country").

You will then proceed to set up the Tivo as when it was first used/out of the box.

4. crmndza

crmndza New Member

Nov 16, 2011
    Thank you everyone.

5. unitron

unitron Well-Known Member

Apr 28, 2006
    semi-coastal NC
    If you put a hard drive from one TiVo into another of the same model you lose the shows recorded on the drive you move.

Before you assume that your problem is the hard drive, you need to consider the very real possibility that it's a power supply problem.

I can tell you more about that if you'd like.

6. crmndza

crmndza New Member

Nov 16, 2011
    Yes tell me more about power supply problems. I swapped out the hard drives and couln't get past the power up window.

7. unitron

Apr 28, 2006