Thinking about a Series 3

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by 1911shooter, Aug 29, 2007.

1. 1911shooter

1911shooter New Member

Jul 9, 2003

Advertisements

I have an original Sony Tivo with a lifetime subscription. I need dual tuners so an upgrade is in order. I've been using a DVR from Time Warner for a few months and it stinks.

I talked to Tivo and they're transfer my lifetime subscription to a Series 3 for $200. They will not do it with a HD box.

Does anyone think there will be a price drop on the Series 3 anytime soon?

What about the SDV? Anyone heard rumors about San Diego?

Thanks!

2. Ilene

Ilene Member

Dec 26, 2001
    Plano, Tx
    For those of us that paid $799 last September, we might think that the current $579 at the TiVo Community Store price seems pretty darn cheap. You get the nicer remote (a $49.99 value)and a 32 hours vs. 20 hours of HD recording space with the Series 3 (S3) over the newer TiVo HD (THD) (which is $280 cheaper). Plus you get the benefit of those of us trail blazers which have worked out most of the bugs that were in the S3. There are still a few things TiVo is working out with the THD - I have no doubt that they will.

Will they allow lifetime transfers with the THD - maybe, but maybe not. I started with the unit you have now and you won't believe how far TiVo has come! You will want to add more storage with the eSata drive (not available right now for the THD). You will be able to join the 21st century with the TiVo network adapter so that you can be free of having TiVo "phone home" and you can schedule recordings to your S3/THD from any internet connected computer/device.

Many of us are waiting for the day so that we can Multiroom view (can't be done though with the Sony) and for TiVo to Go -download your recordings to your laptop and off you go!

It's time to really join the TiVolution!

3. Dr_Diablo

Dr_Diablo Dr_Diablo

Nov 23, 2003
    Midwest